Dukinfield St Mark, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Dunkinfield, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dukinfield St Mark, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockport Borough
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Ashton Under Lyne PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1846
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office


Contents

Parish History

DUKINFIELD or Duckenfield, is a township, in the parish of Stockport, union of Ashton-under-Lyne, hundred of Macclesfield, N. division of the county of Chester; adjoining Ashton-under-Lyne. The river Tame separates the township from the town of Ashton-under-Lyne, in Lancashire.  A church, dedicated to St. John the Evangelist, was erected in 1840-1841, and consecrated on May 24th in the latter year. An ecclesiastical parish, called St. Mark's, was formed of a part of Dukinfield adjoining Ashton, in February 1846. Another chapel was built and situated in the town of Stalybridge (which is partly in this township), called Castle Hall Chapel, was formed, also in 1846.
The Calvinists, Independents, Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, Moravians, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics have places of worship.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241242.

Church records

Dukinfield St Mark chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials and those for Castle Hall Chapelry, St John the Evangelist, and St Matthew's have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
DUKINFIELD ST MARK Chapelry (1846) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1846-1900
1849-1886


DUKINFIELD ST JOHN the EVANGELIST Chapelry (1841) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1861-1867, 1873-1881, 1890-1896
1871-1906


  DUKINFIELD ST MATTHEW Chapelry (1879) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's
  NONE

  NONE

  NONE
FS BT'S
  NONE

  NONE

  NONE
  CASTLE HALL STALYBRIDGE Chapelry (1846, 1852 or 1790?) Online Records - partly in Dukinfield

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's
  NONE

  NONE

  NONE
FS BT'S
  NONE

  NONE

  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. Mark's Chapel in Dukinfield, 1846-1959 Cheshire Record Office no.: P204/1/1-5, P204/2/1-5, P215/5520/3.

Parish Registers: St Mark's Chapel
Film
Baptisms, 1846-1900; Marriages, 1849-1886.
1656304 Items 3 - 7
Marriages 1886-1905.
1656305 Items 1 - 2
Baptisms, 1900-1917; Marriages, 1905-1912 (to 27 Apr. 1912).
2068902 Items 6 - 8
Marriages, 1912-1924 (from 10 Apr. 1912)
2068903 Items 1-2
Baptisms, 1875-1887 (from St. Mark's mission room and found in St. Luke's parish registers).
2147303 Item 10
Baptisms, 1917-1937. Marriages, 1924-Oct. 1937.
2147232 Items 6 - 7
Marriages, Sep. 1937-1959.
2147233 Items 1 - 2

Parish registers for St. John's Chapel, Dukinfield, 1841-1955 Cheshire Record Office no.: P167/1/1-6, P167/2/1-5, P167/3/1-3, P167/3562.

Parish Registers: St John's Chapel
Film
Baptisms, 1841-1861.
1655858 Item 6
Baptisms, 1861-1910. Marriages, 1842-1871.
1655859
Marriages, 1871-1906. Burials, 1841-1860.
1655874
Burials, 1860-1955.
1655875 Items 1 - 2
Baptisms, 1910-1946. Marriages, 1906-June 1936.
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2068903 Items 3 - 5
Marriages, June 1936-1940.
2068904 Item 1

Parish registers of St. Luke's Church, Dukinfield, 1889-1959 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P215/5520/1-6.

Parish Registers: St Luke's Church
Film
Baptisms, 1889-1958.
2147303 Items 8 - 9
Marriages, 1906-Feb. 1921
2147303 Items 11 - 12
Marriages, Feb. 1921-1959.
2147304 Items 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts for St. Mark's Chapel, Dukinfield, 1846-1903 Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 81

Bishops Transcripts: St Mark's Chapel
Film
Baptisms, 1846-1851, 1882-1888, 1890, 1889, 1891-1903.
1647428 Item 2

Bishop's transcripts for St. John's Chapel, Dukinfield, 1844-1854 Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 80

Bishops Transcripts: St Jonn's Chapel
Film
Baptisms, burials, 1844-1846, baptisms, 1847-1849, burials, 1847-1849, baptisms, 1851-1854.
1647428 Item 1

Bishop's transcriptsfor Christ Church, Dukinfield, 1892 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 79

Bishops Transcripts:Christ Church
Film
Baptisms, 1892.
1647369 Item 7
Non Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Moravian/United Brethren
  • Plymouth Brethren
  • Presbyterian Unitarian
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Free Methodist

Non-Conformists records:

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Burials, Moravian Chapel, Dukinfield, 1754-1840 Microfilm of original records at the Astley Cheetham Public Library in Staleybridge, Cheshire

Burials, Moravian Chapel, Dukinfield Film
Burials, Moravian Chapel, Dukinfield, 1754-1840
1648193 Item 3

Church records for Astley Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Dukinfield, 1919-1941 Manchester Archives Central Library call no.: M275.

Church records for Astley Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Dukinfield Film
Marriages, 1919-1941.
2357133 Item 13

 Church records for Bethesda, Wellington Street New Connexion Methodist Chapel, Dukinfield, 1840-1911 Manchester Archives Central Library call no.: L10/74.

Church records for Bethesda, Wellington Street New Connexion Methodist Chapel, Dukinfield Film
Burials, 1840-1887, 1905-1911.
2357133 Item 14

Church records for Foundry Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Dukinfield, 1850-1958 Manchester Archives Central Library call no.: C/12/3.

Church records for Foundry Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Dukinfield Film
Baptisms, 1850-1953. Marriages, 1892-1958.
2357134 Items 1 - 7

Church records for Park Street Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Dukinfield, 1855-1967 Manchester Archives Central Library call no.: L10/10, M275.

Church records for Park Street Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Dukinfield, Film
Baptisms, 1855-1953, 1967. Marriages, 1897-1953.
2357133 Items 15 - 20

 Presbyterian Church Dukinfield, Church records, 1670-1840 RG-4 series nos. 1799, 3764A, 2520, 576, 165, 710.

Presbyterian Church Dukinfield, Church records Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1670-1840.
20044 Items 1-5
Another filming of 4th item
590679 Item 11

Old Chapel Dukinfield Presbyterian/Unitarian Church records, 1677-1985 Microfilm of original records at the Timeside Libraries and Arts Dept., Stalybridge, Cheshire.

Old Chapel Dukinfield Presbyterian/Unitarian Church records, 1677-1985 Film
General register (christenings with some marriages and funerals), 1677-1712 -- Baptisms and burials, 1761-1785 -- Baptisms, 1785-1833 -- Burials, 1784-1793 -- Baptisms, 1833-1985 -- Marriages, 1869-1875, 1837-1869.
1514710

Moravian Chapel Dukinfield, Cheshire Church records, 1784-1839 RG-4 series no. 97.

Moravian Chapel Dukinfield, Cheshire Church records Film
Baptisms, 1784-1839.
20044 Item 6

 Moravian Chapel Fairfield, Lancashire Church records, 1785-1840 Public Record Office nos.: RG4/3122, 3123

Moravian Chapel Fairfield, Lancashire Church records Film
Includes baptisms, 1786-1840 and burials, 1785-1840.
Includes records for the Dukinfield Moravian congregation, 1786-1812.
560881 Items 4-5

Providence Chapel Dukinfield, Cheshire: Independent Church records, 1806-1837 RG-4 series nos. 179-181.

Providence Chapel Dukinfield, Cheshire: Independent Church records Film
Births, baptisms, burials, 1806-1837.
20047 Items 6-8
Births and baptisms, 1806-1830. Burials, 1807-1828.
1482351 Item 11
Births and baptisms, 1830-1837. Burials, 1829.
1482352 Item 1
Burials, 1821-1837.
1482351 Item 10

Caroline Street Chapel Staleybridge, England Wesleyan Church records, 1812-1837 RG-4 series nos. 545, 546, 547.

Caroline Street Chapel Staleybridge, England Wesleyan Church records Film
Births, baptisms and burials 1812-1837.
20051 Items 5-7

Old Chapel Dukinfield, Cheshire: Presbyterian/Unitarian Early marriages 1677-1713 Manchester and Lancashire FHS Library no.: RC 363

Old Chapel Dukinfield, Cheshire: Presbyterian/Unitarian Film
Early marriages recorded at Dukinfield 1677-1713
1656924 Item 18

Extracts from the registers of the non-conformist chapel, Dukinfield, kept by the Rev. Samuel Angier, 1677 to 1713

Extracts from the registers of the non-conformist chapel, Dukinfield, Film
Extracts from the registers of the non-conformist chapel, Dukinfield, kept by the Rev. Samuel Angier, 1677 to 1713
1656924 Item 20

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Ashton under Lyn (1837-1937)
  • Hyde (1937-1974)

Poor Law

  • Ashton under Lyn

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Dukinfield St Mark on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 19 February 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 November 2014, at 19:16.
  • This page has been accessed 3,774 times.