Duncton, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Guide to Duncton, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Duncton, Sussex
Holy Trinity Duncton West Sussex.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rotherbridge
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Sutton PLU
Registration District Chichester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1548
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Midhurst
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DUNCTON, a parish, in the union of Sutton (under Gilbert's act), hundred of Rotherbridge, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 3½ miles (S. by W.) from Petworth Near the church are the remains of a hypocaust, discovered in 1815, and also of a Roman bath.[1]

Duncton Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Sussex, created in 1692 from Petworth, Sussex Ancient Parish.

The parish church has been designated as a grade I listed buildingBritish listed building

See also Duncton Wikipedia

Duncton Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 96-102. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Chichester registration district

Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Duncton, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Duncton, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1548-1877 1548-1876
PRTS 1549-1904
1550-1901
1550-1901
SOPC Undefined
Undefined

Duncton Holy Trinity

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1548-1913 Marr 1548-1996 Bur 1548-1992

Bishop's Transcripts 1592-1885
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Duncton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

Sutton (East Preston) Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 96-102. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 August 2014, at 21:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,440 times.