Dunkirk, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Dunkirk, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Dunkirk, Kent
Former Christ Church Dunkirk Kent.jpg
Former Christ Church Dunkirk Kent
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westgate
County Kent
Poor Law Union Faversham PLU
Registration District Faversham
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DUNKIRK-VILLE, an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Faversham, hundred of Westgate, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 5 miles (W. by N.) from Canterbury. [1]
Dunkirk is a village and civil parish in the Swale district of Kent, see Dunkirk Kent Wikipedia

Dunkirk Christ Church was formed as an Ecclesiastical parish in 1841.

The church was dedicated on 10 June 1841 by the Archbishop of Canterbury and was the work of architect John Whichcord. The 1838 Courtenay riots in Dunkirk, an extra parochial area which was deprived, caused the creation of the parish to meet the needs of local people.For a history of the riots see Battle of Bossenden Wood Wikipedia

The walls contain flints from the Canterbury City walls the gift of the Archbishop of Canterbury and removed during renovation of the city walls.

The church is designated Grade II listed building by English Heritage and was declared redundant in 1988 and is now a private residential dwelling.British listed building See Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Faversham Registration District

Kent County Council

Registration Services
Invicta House
County Hall
Maidstone
Kent ME14 1XX Telephone 08458 247 400 http://www.kent.gov.uk are developing online search for all birth marriages and deaths as a result of a community volunteer effort. Not all events are capable of search but the index is updated annually. Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Dunkirk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
Dunkirk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1810-1912 1810-1912 1841-1927 (Banns) 1841-1927 (Banns) 1841-1904 1841-1904

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Dunkirk are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census returns for Dunkirk 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901




Poor Law Unions

Faversham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 102-105. Date accessed: 25 July 2013. L
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 3,403 times.