Dunn County, North DakotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Dunn County, North Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Dunn County, North Dakota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of North Dakota | |
![]() Location of North Dakota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | May 24, 1901 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Manning |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Dunn County Courthouse 205 Owens Street PO Box 136 Manning, ND 58642 Phone: 701.573.4447 Dunn County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Clerk District Court has marriage, probate, divorce and court records from 1908 and military discharge records from 1919; Register of Deeds has land records from 1900; State Historical Society has naturalization records[1]
History
Parent County
1901--Dunn County was created 24 May 1901 from Stark County. County seat: Manning [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Indian Reservation
A portion of the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation is located in Dunn County. The remainder of the reservation is in Mountrail, McKenzie, Mercer, and Ward Counties.
Neighboring Counties
Billings | Mckenzie | Mclean | Mercer | Mountrail | Stark
Resources
Cemeteries
Roshua cemetery inscriptions providing the name, date of birth and date of death where available.
Census
- 1910
- 1915
- 1920
- 1925
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Dunn County.
- July 28-29, 1864 = Killdeer Mountain, also known as Tahkahokuty Mountain[3]
- Map showing Civil War battles in North Dakota.
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the North Dakota Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Dunn County, North Dakota Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dunn County, North Dakota. Page 523 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2013, at 17:18.
- This page has been accessed 1,292 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

