Dunn County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Dunn County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Dunn County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Dunn County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 3, 1854
County Seat Menomonie
Courthouse
Address Dunn County Courthouse
800 Wilson Avenue
Menomonie, WI 64751-2785;
Phone: 715.232.1677
WI Dunn.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Dunn County Courthouse
800 Wilson Avenue
Menomonie, WI 64751-2785;
Phone: 715.232.1677

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and death records
from 1860 and land records [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1854--Dunn County was created 3 February 1854 from Chippewa County. County seat: Menomonie [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

 

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Dunn County Cemeteries- 1 of 3.jpg
Page 2 of Dunn Co. WI Cemeteries.jpg
3 of 3 - Dunn Co. WI Cemeteries.jpg

Census

1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

1885 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1885 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.



Church History and Records

Lutheran
  • Records of Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Wheeler, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Barron County Register of Deeds
330 E. LaSalle Avenue

Phone: 715-537-6211, Fax? 715-537-6817

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Dunn County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Dunn County.

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company L
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies A, F and K
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Companies B and C

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums

University of Wisconsin - Stout

UW-Stout University Library315 Tenth Ave. Menomonie, WI 54751 715-232-1215Fax: 715-232-1783Toll-Free: 1-800-787-8688

http://ezproxy.uwstout.edu/ics-wpd/Newspaper_Index/index.shtml

Dunn County Genealogical Society (located at the Historical Society & Museum below)

www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~widunn/dcgs.htm

Dunn County Historical Society

www.dunnhistory.org

Dunn County
Historical Society
PO Box 437,
Menomonie, WI 54751
(715) 232-8685

County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 756 Dunn County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 21:34.
  • This page has been accessed 7,542 times.