Dunnington, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.pngEast Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Dunnington

Guide to Dunnington, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dunnington, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ouse and Derwent
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union York PLU
Registration District York
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573
Bishop's Transcripts: 1628
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bulmer
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1729 - Court of the Peculiar of Dunnington; Post-1728 - Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DUNNINGTON (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the wapentake of Ouse and Derwent, union, and E. riding of the county, of York, 4½ miles (E. by N.) from York containing the township of Grimston. Church of England records began in 1583. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from York Registration District held at York are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these . There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Dunnington exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
DUNNINGTON PARISH (1573) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1651-1680 1651-1680 1654-1680, 1823-1901 1654-1680, 1823-1901 1654-1680 1654-1680
FS 1583-1886

1573-1901

None

JOIN None

1573-1837

None

NBI

1780-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464220.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 102-105. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 7 October 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (East Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 2,436 times.