Dunterton, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Dunterton, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png DevonGotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Dunterton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dunterton, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lifton
County Devon
Poor Law Union Tavistock
Registration District Tavistock
Records begin
Parish registers: 1580
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tavistock
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office


Parish History

DUNTERTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Tavistock, hundred of Lifton, Lifton and S. divisions of Devon, 5 miles (S. E. by S.) from Launceston. The parish is situated on the road to Tavistock, and bounded on the south and west by the river Tamar. At a place called Chapel Field formerly stood a chantry chapel, endowed with seven acres of woodland and four acres of meadow.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Dunterton, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
Dunterton, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241316.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Dunterton on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England Date accessed 26 October 2013
  2. 'Devon Parish Marriages,' findmypast, accessed 8 January 2014.

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2015, at 00:28.
  • This page has been accessed 3,233 times.