Durham GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Durham ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
This article is about a county in England. For other uses, see Durham (disambiguation) page.
Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Durham.
When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Durham was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes. The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place. Click here to see a list of the civil districts in Durham and the parishes covered by each. Read more about England Civil Registration.
See a list of the parishes of Durham with links to articles.
Durham Bishops Transcripts Collection Description: Images of parish register transcripts recording the events of baptism, marriage, or death in the Diocese of Durham, Church of England parishes. Includes parishes in the counties of Durham, Northumberland, and parts of York and Cumberland.
Before 1858, every town and parish in Durham was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts. To read more about probate records and see a list of Durham towns and parishes and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Durham Probate Jurisdictions.
Durham records online: Although you have to pay for records the amount is nominal and you can still do searches.
- Durham Resources and help pages on RootsChat Durham Resources and help pages. (Free).
Durham Bishops Transcripts: Collection Description: Images of parish register transcripts recording the events of baptism, marriage, or death in the Diocese of Durham, Church of England parishes. Includes parishes in the counties of Durham, Northumberland, and parts of York and Cumberland.
FreeBMD Free Civil Registration Indexes
Freecensus UK Free Census records
FreeREG Free Parish Registers
Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Durham
To view an even further list of web sites and/or web pages for County Durham and many of its parishes, visit FHLFavorites.info.
- This page was last modified on 11 November 2015, at 15:51.
- This page has been accessed 16,054 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News