Durham St Margaret, DurhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Durham St Margaret, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Durham St Margaret, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Durham City
County Durham
Poor Law Union Durham PLU
Registration District Durham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History 

Durham St Margaret a former chapelry in the parish of  Durham St Oswald, Durham was created as a parish in 1748.[1]

DURHAM, a city, the capital of the county of Durham, and the head of a union, 67 miles (E. S. E.) from Carlisle, 87 (N. E.) from Lancaster, 67 (N. W. by W.) from York. The city is surmounted by the cathedral and the remains of the ancient castle, together with other ecclesiastical residences. The college was established at the same time as the university. The city comprises several parishes: St. Giles (1584), St. Mary Le Bow (1571), St. Mary-the-less (1560), St. Nicholas' (1540), St. Oswald's (1538), St. Margaret's (1557), as well as The (Durham) Cathedral (1609). The parish of Durham St Oswald's also includes the village and chapelry of Shincliffe (1826) and part of the chapelry of Croxdale (1696) [see also Merrington Parish]. The chapelry of Belmont was built in the year 1858 which also stood within the boundary of Durham ancient parish. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists, and Roman Catholics. [2]

Additional information: St. Margaret's, or Crossgate, containing 1712 inhabitants. The church, an ancient Norman structure with a low tower, has undergone much alteration at different periods.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Durham St Margaret, Durham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
DURHAM ST MARGARET PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

For a full list of all the parishes and chapels of Durham comprising the whole ancient boundary of Durham parish, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Durham Cathedral, Durham PARISH page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, can also use England Jurisdictions 1851 maps. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The Parish Registers for the period 1558-1983 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Du.SM).

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/83  1765-1919 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.  The University Library collection is not in chronological order and individual pages are often difficult to locate.

This collection reference also includes Nevilles Cross St John transcripts 1913-1919.  These entries are integrated in the St Margaret transcripts and run from DDR/EA/PBT/2/83/1875 -1876 The St Margarets entries then resume until the end of the year 1919.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241358.

Poor Law Unions

Durham Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 110-121. Date accessed: 21 March 2011
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 110-121. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 December 2013.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 May 2014, at 20:56.
  • This page has been accessed 1,155 times.