Durham St Mary le Bow with St Mary the Less, DurhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Durham St Mary le Bow with St Mary the Less, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Durham St Mary le Bow with St Mary the Less, Durham
St Mary the Less, the chapel of St John's College Durham.jpg
St Mary the Less, the chapel of St John's College Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Durham City
County Durham
Poor Law Union Durham PLU
Registration District Durham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571; Separate registers exist for Durham St Mary the Less beginning 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762; Separate records exist for Durham St Mary the Less beginning 1787
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Easington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DURHAM, a city, the capital of the county of Durham, and the head of a union, 67 miles (E. S. E.) from Carlisle, 87 (N. E.) from Lancaster, 67 (N. W. by W.) from York. The city is surmounted by the cathedral and the remains of the ancient castle, together with other ecclesiastical residences. The college was established at the same time as the university. The city comprises several parishes: St. Giles (1584), St. Mary Le Bow (1571), St. Mary-the-less (1560), St. Nicholas' (1540), St. Oswald's (1538), St. Margaret's (1557), as well as The (Durham) Cathedral (1609). The parish of Durham St Oswald's also includes the village and chapelry of Shincliffe (1826) and part of the chapelry of Croxdale (1696) [see also Merrington Parish]. The chapelry of Belmont was built in the year 1858 which also stood within the boundary of Durham ancient parish. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists, and Roman Catholics. [1]

Additional information: Durham St Mary le Bow was an ancient parish and the present church built in 1685 replaced the older church which had fallen into disrepair. The church united two Ancientparishes of St Mary le Bow and St Mary the Less into one parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Indexes

Durham Cathedral's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of its ecclesiastical parishes of Durham St Giles, Durham St Mary-the-Less and other to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
  ST MARY le BOW PARISH DURHAM (1572) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1572-1813 1573-1814 None
PALL 1790-1812 None
ST MARY THE LESS DURHAM PARISH (1560) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1813-1841                           None None                                
PALL 1790-1812 None
DURHAM CATHEDRAL (1609) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1609-1874 1610-1836 None
None None None
None None None
  ST CUTHBERT Chapelry DURHAM (1814) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1814-1912 None None
None None None
None None None
  ST GILES PARISH DURHAM (1584) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1584-1812;1844-1893 1584-1814 None
None None None
None None None
  ST MARGARET PARISH DURHAM (1558) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1558-1812;1851-1854 1558-1812;1851-1854 None
None None None
None None None
  ST NICHOLAS PARISH DURHAM (1540) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1540-1812 1540-1812 None
None None None
ST OSWALD PARISH DURHAM (1538) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1761 1538-1751 None
None None None
BELMONT Chapelry (1858) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1858-1894 1858-1898 None
None None None
SHINCLIFFE Chapelry (DURHAM) (1826) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1826-1904 1826-1902 1826-1903
None None None
FMP None None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding and comprising the whole ancient parish of Durham and its surrounding parishes and chapelries to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Durham Cathedral, Durham PARISH page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 maps. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The Parish Registers for the period 1571-1979 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Du.MB).

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/84 1762-1841 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. There are gaps in the transcripts in the early decades until the late 1790's.

There is an additional series DDR/EA/PBT/2/85 from 1787-1793 which has page sequence PBT/2/85/1-6 but is titled for the years 1787-1838 and for the parish of St Mary the Less.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Poor Law Unions

Durham Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 110-121. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,080 times.