Dutchess County, New YorkEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
New York
Dutchess County
Guide to Dutchess County New York genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, military, immigration and naturalization records. This page describes sources of genealogical data about Dutchess County, New York families, including links to smaller localities in the county. New York-related pages show useful statewide sources. United States pages explain the terminology and contents of genealogical records.
Coordinates: 41.76°0′N 73.75°0′W / 41.76°N 73.75°W
| Dutchess County, New York | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of New York | |
![]() Location of New York in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | 1683 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Poughkeepsie |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | 22 Market Street Poughkeepsie, NY 12601 Albany, NY 12206-1324 Dutchess County Website |
Dutchess County New York Historical Facts
Parent County
1 November 1683: Created one of original 12 counties.[1]
Neighboring Counties
Columbia · Orange · Putnam · Ulster · Connecticut counties: Fairfield · Litchfield · Massachusetts county: Berkshire
Boundary Changes
- For a time, was annexed to Ulster County, separated in 1713. Records for the time period of 1683-1713 are in Ulster county.
- 1717, a portion of Albany County transferred to Dutchess County.
- 4 April 1786: the towns of Clermont and Germantown were transferred to Columbia County when the county was created.
- 12 June 1812: Putnam County was set off.
Record Loss
Dutchess County New York Genealogy Resources
Bible Records
- 1581–1917 New York, Family Bible Records at Ancestry– ($); Index. Database is a collection of genealogically important records taken from the Bibles of colony and state residents. Reveals the Bible's original owner, brief record of descendants,and a particular event such as birth or marriage as recorded in Bible.
- 1581–1917 New York, Family Bible Records at Ancestry– ($); Index. Database is a collection of genealogically important records taken from the Bibles of colony and state residents. Reveals the Bible's original owner, brief record of descendants,and a particular event such as birth or marriage as recorded in Bible.
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
Cemetery Transcriptions for Dutchess county New York
- Fishkill Landing (Mattawan) Cemetery, Beacon BillionGraves
Census
For information and tips on using and accessing online census records, see New York Census.
- 1735-1772 - Scott, Kenneth. "Some Dutchess County, New York, Early Residents, 1735-1772," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 73 (1985):44-52. Digital version at National Genealogical Society website ($); FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 73 (1985).
- 1761-1763 - Scott, Kenneth. "Some Dutchess County, New York, Residents, 1761-1763," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 74 (1986):128-149. Digital version at National Genealogical Society website ($); FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 74 (1986).
Federal
U.S. Census Mortality Schedules for New York, 1850-1880:
- Available online at Ancestry ($).
- Deaths are included for the 12 months prior to the census, 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, and 1879-80 beginning 1 June and ending 31 May of the census year.[2]
- Basic contents of the records include: Name, sex, age, color, marital status, place of birth, month of death, occupation, and cause of death. 1870 also has parents' birthplace. 1880 lists how long a resident of the county.
- Also on FHL Films 1415128–42 which can be ordered through any Family History Center.
- The 1890 Census is lost. For a substitute, see directories.
State
| Source | 1825 | 1835 | 1845 | 1855 | 1865 | 1875 | 1892 | 1905 | 1915 | 1925 |
| Ancestry.com | - | - | - | - | - | - | Yes | - | Yes | Yes |
| Family History Library | - | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | - | Yes | Yes |
| FamilySearch Historical Records | - | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | - | - | - |
| New York State Library | - | - | - | - | Yes | Yes | Yes | - | Yes | Yes |
New York State 1865 and 1875 Census Marriage, Mortality; and 1865 Soldier Mortality records:
- Images available online at New York State Census, 1865 and New York State Census, 1875. Click on the link to go to the page, then click on the ‘Browse through images’ link and select your county, then select an ancestor's town and browse to the end of the population schedule until you find the Marriage, Mortality, and 1865 soldier mortality schedules.
- Includes marriages and deaths for the 12 months prior to the census, ending 1 June of the census year.
- Marriage entry content: Husband's name, wife's name, ages and previous marital status, month and day and place of marriage, and church or civil ceremony.
- Death entry content: Name, age, sex, color, marital status, month and day of death, native state or country, occupation and cause of death.
- 1865 deaths of officers and enlisted men entry content: Name, age, marital status, citizenship status, enlistment date, original regiment, original rank, regiment at death, rank at death, promotions, death date and place, manner of death, surviving associates, and burial place.
- Also on microfilm. See the Family History Library line in the above State Census Chart. These can be ordered through any Family History Center.
Church Records
Church records are good substitutes for birth, marriage, and death information and are most often found on a local city/town or county level. Published and manuscript church records can be found at public, university, and private libraries.
For a brief general history of denominations and a guide to finding various New York denomination's records, see New York Church Records Wiki page.
Dutch Reformed
- 1757-1906 - Tower, Maria Bockee Carpenter. The Records of the Reformed Dutch Church of New Hackensack, Dutchess County, New York. 1932. Digital version at World Vital Records ($).
- 1757-1906 - Tower, Maria Bockee Carpenter. The Records of the Reformed Dutch Church of New Hackensack, Dutchess County, New York. 1932. Digital version at World Vital Records ($).
- 1758-1891 - Martins, Bob. Hopewell Reformed Church Baptisms 1758-1891, courtesy: NYGenWeb.
- 1758-1891 - Martins, Bob. Hopewell Reformed Church Baptisms 1758-1891, courtesy: NYGenWeb.
- 1766-1882 - Martins, Bob. Marriages in Hopewell Reformed Church 1766 through 1882, Index, courtesy: NYGenWeb.
- 1766-1882 - Martins, Bob. Marriages in Hopewell Reformed Church 1766 through 1882, Index, courtesy: NYGenWeb.
- 1766-1827 - "Marriages in the Dutch Reformed Church in Hopewell, Dutchess County, New York," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, 1766-1817: Vol. 78, No. 4 (Oct. 1947):161-166; 1818-1827: Vol. 79, No. 1 (Jan. 1948):17-19. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 78-79.
- 1766-1827 - "Marriages in the Dutch Reformed Church in Hopewell, Dutchess County, New York," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, 1766-1817: Vol. 78, No. 4 (Oct. 1947):161-166; 1818-1827: Vol. 79, No. 1 (Jan. 1948):17-19. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 78-79.
- 1778-1825 - Marriages and Deaths Dutchess County, New York 1778 - 1825 at World Vital Records ($).
Presbyterian
- First Presbyterian Church at New Hamburg, Dutchess, New York FHL film 860334 Item 5 These are part of the DAR collection and are a transcription.
- First Presbyterian Church at New Hamburg, Dutchess, New York FHL film 860334 Item 5 These are part of the DAR collection and are a transcription.
Quaker
- Cox, John, Jr., comp. Quaker Records: Nine-Partners Monthly Meeting, Dutchess Co., N.Y. Digital version at Ancestry ($). Births, marriages, deaths on more than 4,200 individuals.[3]
- Frost, Josephine S.C. Quaker meeting records, state of New York: Ulster County, Columbia County, Albany County, Clinton County Other Libraries; FHL Book 974.733 K28
- Quaker Marriages from the Oblong Monthly Meeting at The American Local History Network - free.
Additional Church Records
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dutchess County, New York Church Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Court Records
Ancestors may have also been involved in municipal, state, or federal court cases. See also New York Court Records and United States Court Records.
Crime and Criminals
Directories
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
- Rootsweb message board for Dutchess County, New York has many information threads about families that resided in that county. There is a search engine that allows you to search by surname and topic.
History
Prior to the Anglo-Dutch incursion, what is today Dutchess County was a leading center for the Wappani. They had their council-fire at Fishkill Hook and also held gatherings along the Danskammer. (source:Wikipedia)
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See New York Land and Property for more details, especially about the papers generated in New York State by large speculative land companies.
Original land records in Dutchess County, New York began in [?dateyear?]. These records are housed at the [?repository?] in [?town?].
Online
Microforms
- 1718-1950 Deed Records 1718-1901 FHL film 565253 (first of 191 films) - Index included: 1718-1950
- 1754-1950 Mortgage Records 1754-1857 FHL film 565278 (first of 80 films - Index included: 1754 - 1950
- 1771-1882 Records of the Loan Office 1771-1882 FHL film 565219 (first of 8 films - Index included. Records include Accounts, mortgages, loan ledgers, and deeds.
- 1718-1950 Deed Records 1718-1901 FHL film 565253 (first of 191 films) - Index included: 1718-1950
Books
Additional land records can sometimes be found using these catalogs:
- WorldCat using the search phase: Dutchess County, New York deeds. (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog.)
- Family History Library Catalog using the search phrase: 1, New York - Land and Property. (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search.)
- The Patents, in the twelve years 1685-1697 lawful patents had been granted securing for their purchasers every foot of Hudson River shoreline in the original county. Three additional patents, to 1706, laid claim to the remaining interior lands. They were:
- Rombout, 1685
- Minisink, 1686
- Kip, 1686
- Schuyler, 1688 (Poughkeepsie)
- Schuyler, 1688 (Red Hook)
- Aertsen-Roosa-Elton, 1688
- Pawlings-Staats, 1696
- Rhinebeek, 1697
- (Great) Nine Partners, 1697
- Philipse, 1697
- Cuyler, 1697
- Fanconnier, 1703
- Beekman (Back Lots), 1703
- (Little) Nine Partners, 1706
The Settlers of Beekman Patents, 7 volumes, are available online at New York Ancestors ($).
Additional resources
Additional resources for Dutchess County, New York land records may be found in the Dutchess County, New York – Land Records topic page of the Family History Library Catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Dutchess County for European settlers included:[4]
- Albany Post Road (or Queen's Road, or King's Road) 1669
Military
Revolutionary War
Dutchess County men served in the 2nd New York Regiment[5] and the 4th New York Regiment.[6]
Civil War
Town registers. The New York town clerks kept a bound register of all soldiers from their town serving in the Civil War 1861-1865. Registers are arranged by county, and town. Some town registers are missing. The registers include an index at the start of each town.
Content. Many register entries include full name, residence, date and place of birth, parents names, marital status, date of enlistment and muster and rank, discharges, death, or promotion.
Access. The original registers are at the New York State Archives in Albany, New York. Microfilm copies are found at the Family History Library (FHL Film 1993401-37) and can be ordered for viewing at your local Family History Center. They are also indexed and available at Ancestry.com ($).
Available towns. Registers are available for: Beekman · East Fishkill · Fishkill · Hyde Park · LaGrange · Milan · North East · Pawling · Pine Plains · Pleasant Valley · Poughkeepsie · Red Hook · Stanford · Union Vale · Washington.
Regiments. Service men in Dutchess County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were formed in Dutchess County:[7]
- - 3rd Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 5th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 7th Veteran Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 9th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 17th Veteran Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 18th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 20th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 30th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 38th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 47th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 57th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 65th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 87th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 128th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 143rd Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 150th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 157th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 168th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 176th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 187th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 188th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 192nd Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 194th Regiment, New York Infantry
Naturalization and Citizenship
Ancestry.com is in the process of digitizing naturalization records stored at the Dutchess County Clerk's Office (1932-1989), see Mid Hudson News article.
- 1824–1941 New York, Southern District Index to Petitions for Naturalization, 1828-1941 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index.
- 1824–1941 New York, Southern District Index to Petitions for Naturalization, 1828-1941 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index.
- 1917-1950 New York, Southern District Naturalization Index, 1917-1950 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index.
- 1917-1950 New York, Southern District Naturalization Index, 1917-1950 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index.
Indexes
- 1792-1989 Index to Petitions for Naturalization filed in New York City, 1792-1989 at Ancestry ($). This database is based on NARA's Soundex Index to Petitions for Naturalization filed in Federal, State, and Local Courts located in New York City, 1792-1989. All 5 boroughs are included.
The Family History Library has also acquired this comprehensive index for the years 1792 through 1906 on microfilm: FHL Film 1419807 (1st of 294 films). The courts this index covers are:
- City Court of Brooklyn, 1836-1894
- Kings County Court, 1806-1906
- New York City Marine Court, 1806-1849
- New York County Common Pleas Court, 1792-1895
- New York County Superior Court, 1828-1895
- New York City and County Supreme Court, 1868-1906
- Queens County Court, 1799-1906
- Queens County Surrogate Court, 1888-1898
- Richmond County Court, 1869-1906
- U.S. Circuit Court Southern District, 1846-1876
- U.S. District Court Eastern District, (Kings, Queens, Nassau and Suffolk counties), 1865-1906
- U.S. District Court Southern Court Southern District, (New York, Bronx and also Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Richmond, Rockland, Sullivan and Westchester counties), 1824-1906[8]
Newspapers
Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the largest online collection of 400 New York 1795-2007 newspapers. The instructions for this quirky site are needed to get the most out of it.
Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the following Dutchess County, New York newspaper images:
- Amenia NY Harlem Valley Times 1913-2007
- Amenia NY Times 1852-1914
- Millbrook NY Roundtable 1897-2000
- Pine Planes NY Register 1859-2005
- Poughkeepsie NY Daily Eagle 1861-1937
- Poughkeepsie Evening Star and Enterprise 1936-1941
- Poughkeepsie NY New Yorker 1941
Obituaries
Periodicals
Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.
Probate Records
Probate records including original estates and wills for New York are held in the office of the Dutchess County, New York County Surrogate Court beginning in 1787, or when the county was formed. Prior to 1787, most are housed at the New York State Archives. See New York Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distribution.
Probate Petitions
In 1830, state law required the Surrogate Court clerk to issue a probate petition for a deceased individual with property. This petition, unique to New York, usually lists the deceased's death date. It also lists the heirs, their relationship to the deceased, and their residence. [9] [10]
These petitions are often found in the estate files and can be obtained from the Dutchess County Surrogate Court.
The petitions for Dutchess County, New York are also available on microfilm at the Family History Library and its centers:
- 1793–1868 Listed as "Probate Packets" FHL Film 913728(first of 120 films) Indexed in General index to surrogate records FHL Film 913654(first of 4 films). How to use Family History Library Catalog
Online Probate Abstracts and Indexes
- 1742-1839 - Cowen, Minnie. Abstracts of Wills of Dutchess County, New York. 13 vols. New York, 1939-1944. Digital version at Ancestry ($). At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Fiche 6078909 (27 fiche).
- 1751-1903 - SAMPUBCO - Browsable index of testators of wills.
- 1751-1832 - Extracts of Selected Wills, courtesy: NYGenWeb.
- 1786-1815 - SAMPUBCO - Browsable index of estates.
- 1787-1835 Abstracts of Wills, Administrations and Guardianships in NY State, 1787 - 1835 at New York Ancestors ($); includes Dutchess County, New York.[11]
- 1787-1805 - Canfield, Amos. "Abstracts of Wills Recorded at Poughkeepsie, Dutchess Co., New York," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, 1787-1790: Vol. 61, No. 1 (Jan. 1930):6-13; 1790-1792: Vol. 61, No. 2 (Apr. 1930):119-126; 1793-1795: Vol. 61, No. 3 (Jul. 1930):256-263; 1788-1797: Vol. 61, No. 4 (Oct. 1930):381-386; 1788-1805: Vol. 62, No. 1 (Jan. 1931):58-59. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 61-62.
- 1812-1832 - Barber, Gertrude A. Index to Wills of Dutchess County, N.Y.: From 1812-1832. 1989. Digital version at Ancestry ($). FHL Fiche 6078906 (2 fiche).
Probate Records on Microfilm
- 1721-1862 Ancient documents including probate records FHL 931616 (309 films).
- 1751-1934 General index to surrogate records FHL Film 913654 (4 films).
- 1751-1905 New York, Dutchess County wills and index FHL Film 913658 (36 films).
- 1787-1865 Letters testamentary and of administration FHL 913694 (7 films).
- 1793-1868 Probate packets FHL 913728 (120 films).
Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts
Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dutchess County, New York probate wills in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Repositories
Cornell University, Guide to Historical Resources in Dutchess County, New York Repositories. ([Ithaca, New York]: New York Historical Resources Center, Olin Library, Cornell University, 1990). At various libraries; FHL Book 974.733 A3g. Includes index. Includes references to some family histories and genealogies.
Archives, Libraries and Museums
PUBLIC LIBRARIES
There are some 30 public libraries in Dutchess County New York a number of which are branch library. They belong to the Mid-Hudson Library System that serves the communities of Columbia, Duchess, Greene, Putnam, and Ulster Counties. They share a catalog that includes a sizeable collection of Genealogical materials. The shared catalog is found on the library systems main page. For information on the individual libraries in Dutchess County, click here.
| Adriance Memorial Library 93 Market St. Poughkeepsie, NY 12601 (845) 485-3445 x3311 Email form |
Genealogical Resources: Census records, obituary index, Poughkeepsie Journal newspaper (starts 1785), published family histories, local histories, military records, immigration records, church records, New England Historical and Genealogical Register, New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, The Dutchess, information about Palatines and Huguenots. |
| Starr Library 68 West Market Street Rhinebeck, New York 12572 Telephone 845.876.4030 Fax 845.876.4030 |
Genealogical Resources: The Starr Library joined with the Consortium of Rhinebeck History to create a space for researchers of genealogy and general local history in the Starr Library. The room is open Tuesday and Thursday from 10 o’clock to 3 o’clock or Saturdays by appointment. It houses a large collection of church and cemetery records, abstracts of Ulster and Dutchess County wills, newspaper marriage and death information and notebooks compiled by respected historians and genealogists, family genealogies on CDs, the Rhinebck Gazette (1842 -1990), state and federal censuses, and rare documents of local and National interest on microfilm. Over a thousand maps drawn by Frank Teal, Rhinebeck surveyor during the early part of the 20th century, are being inventoried and scanned by members of the Rhinebeck Historical Society. |
County Historian's Office
|
Dutchess County Historian[12] |
Genealogical Resources: The County Historian may provide access to obituaries, vital records, church records, maps, and family files or journals. Some historians provide search services for their office records and others may refer you to local genealogists who research in the area. |
|
Additional Resources: |
Courthouses
The Dutchess County Clerk's office has marriage, divorce, court and land records as well as the state census. The Surrogate Court has probate records. For further information about where the records for Dutchess County are held, see the Dutchess County Courthouse page.
Family History Centers
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist in the study of genealogy.
The closest FHC in Dutchess County is the Poughkeepsie New York Family History Center. For additional Family History Centers, search this online FHC directory. See also Introduction to LDS Family History Centers.
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Societies
| Dutchess County Genealogical Society P.O. Box 708 Poughkeepsie, NY 12602 (845) 462-4168 |
Genealogical Resources: Family History Center, vital records, local records, maps, compiled genealogies, censuses, military records, Palatine immigration records. Online library guide. | |
| Dutchess County Historical Society The Clinton House 549 Main Street Poughkeepsie, NY (845) 471-1630 dchistorical@verizon.net |
Genealogical Resources: Family Bibles, cemetery records, local and church histories, city directories, more than 125 family histories, genealogy surname files, maps, newspapers, New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Year Books of the Holland Society of New York, Olde Ulster, probate records, school yearbooks. Historical Societies of Dutchess County. | |
| Little Nine Partners Historical Society P.O. Box 243 Pine Plains, NY 12567 LNPHS@hotmail.com |
Genealogical Resources: Roderic A. Davis's Bibliography and Web Guide is available online as a guide for genealogical researchers. Davis instructs readers how to find genealogical information about the Little Nine Partners, Great Nine Partners, and Dutchess County areas. | |
|
Hudson River Heritage |
Genealogical Resources: Preservation of architecture, rural landscapes and scenic views of the mid-Hudson Valley area. |
|
Additional Resources: |
Social Groups Online
- New York Genealogy Research Community (FamilySearch on Facebook)
Taxation
Town Records
Town records in New York may include early births, marriages, deaths, divorces, local histories, selected military records, and town meeting minutes. For further details, try the links to individual town Wiki pages found in Places. See also:
- Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). NEHGS online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists.
Vital Records
Vital records of birth, marriage or death were first recorded at the local level in the village clerk, town clerk, or city clerk’s ledger book. If you know where a birth, marriage or death took place, a copy of the certificate or record may be obtained by writing to the town, village or city clerk.
See the heading Places on this wiki page for links to local community wiki pages and their available records. See New York Vital Records for a discussion about beginning dates and availability of vital records in New York.
Use substitute records for birth, marriage, and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.
Birth
Early births were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording births in 1881. Births were not recorded on the county level.
Birth Substitutes
- 1640–1962 New York Births and Christenings, 1640-1962 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index.
- 1640–1962 New York Births and Christenings, 1640-1962 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index.
- 1778–1871 Dutchess County Historical Society. Card Index of Deaths, Marriages, and Some Births Collected from Local Newspapers. FHL film 940251(first of 12 films)
- See Town Clerks' Registers of Men who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for birth information.
- See Town Clerks' Registers of Men who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for birth information.
Marriage
Early marriages were sometimes recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) In 1880, town clerks were to record the marriage and a copy was sent to the New York State Department of Health (state level). Town clerks continue to record marriages. Marriages were recorded by the Dutchess County, New York clerk starting in 1908 and go until 1935.[14]
- 1664–1784 New York. Secretary of State, Names of Persons for Whom Marriage Licenses Were Issued By the Secretary of the Province of New York, Previous to 1784 (Albany, New York: Weed, Parsons and Co., 1860). At Cornell University digital library-free; Internet Archive - free; Ancestry edition($); At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 514675 Item 1 or 930131 Item 2. Marriage bonds issued in the State of New York prior to 1784, and the earliest record dating 1664.
- 1664–1784 New York. Secretary of State, Names of Persons for Whom Marriage Licenses Were Issued By the Secretary of the Province of New York, Previous to 1784 (Albany, New York: Weed, Parsons and Co., 1860). At Cornell University digital library-free; Internet Archive - free; Ancestry edition($); At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 514675 Item 1 or 930131 Item 2. Marriage bonds issued in the State of New York prior to 1784, and the earliest record dating 1664.
- 1763-1797 - "Record of Marriages by Roswell Hopkins, One of His Majesty's Justices of the Peace for the County of Dutchess, State of New York," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 39, No. 2 (Apr. 1908):126-129. Digital versions at Internet Archive - free; New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 39.
- 1763-1797 - "Record of Marriages by Roswell Hopkins, One of His Majesty's Justices of the Peace for the County of Dutchess, State of New York," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 39, No. 2 (Apr. 1908):126-129. Digital versions at Internet Archive - free; New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 39.
Marriage Substitutes
- 1686-1980 New York Marriages, 1686–1890 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index. Index entries derived from digital copies of original and compiled records.
- 1686-1980 New York Marriages, 1686–1890 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index. Index entries derived from digital copies of original and compiled records.
- 1776-1805 Dutchess County, NY: Marriages, 1776-1805 at New York Ancestors ($).
- 1776-1805 Dutchess County, NY: Marriages, 1776-1805 at New York Ancestors ($).
- 1777-1834 10,000 Vital Records of Eastern New York at World Vital Records ($).
- 1777-1834 10,000 Vital Records of Eastern New York at World Vital Records ($).
- 1778–1871 Dutchess County Historical Society. Card Index of Deaths, Marriages, and Some Births Collected from Local Newspapers. FHL film 940251(first of 12 films)
- 1800–1855 New York Marriage Notices at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage notices published in newspapers around the state. Contains name of bride and groom, marriage date, marriage location, residence, and newspaper found in.
- 1800–1855 New York Marriage Notices at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage notices published in newspapers around the state. Contains name of bride and groom, marriage date, marriage location, residence, and newspaper found in.
- 1801–1880 Barber Collection- Newspaper Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. Information extracted from the "Brooklyn Eagle" and the "New York Evening Post."
- 1801–1880 Barber Collection- Newspaper Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. Information extracted from the "Brooklyn Eagle" and the "New York Evening Post."
- 1826-1851 Marriage Notices from Dutchess County, New York Newspapers 1826-1851 at NYGenWeb - free.
- 1826-1851 Marriage Notices from Dutchess County, New York Newspapers 1826-1851 at NYGenWeb - free.
- 1856–1863 Index to Marriages and Deaths in the New York Herald at Ancestry– ($); Index. These newspaper notices refer to people up and down the East Coast as well as midwesterners and persons from as far west as the State of California. Also browseable.
- 1856–1863 Index to Marriages and Deaths in the New York Herald at Ancestry– ($); Index. These newspaper notices refer to people up and down the East Coast as well as midwesterners and persons from as far west as the State of California. Also browseable.
- 1864-5, 1874-5 See Marriage Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for marriage information for 1864-5, and 1874-5.
- 1864-5, 1874-5 See Marriage Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for marriage information for 1864-5, and 1874-5.
Divorce
|
Pre–1787 |
All divorces were granted by the governor or legislature and were very rare. |
|
1787–1847 |
All divorces were granted by the court of chancery. These records are found in the New York State Archives or for the New York City area at the New York County Clerk's office.These divorces were granted only on the grounds of adultery. |
|
1847–present |
All divorces are handled by the county Supreme Court where the divorce was granted. Divorce files in New York are sealed for 100 years. Contact the County Clerk for information about divorce records. |
Divorce judgment papers often include date and place of the marriage and the names and birthdates of any children. Local newspapers may publish notices of divorce actions.
Death
Early deaths were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording deaths in 1881. Deaths were not recorded on the county level.
Death Substitutes
- 1778–1871 Dutchess County Historical Society. Card Index of Deaths, Marriages, and Some Births Collected from Local Newspapers. FHL film 940251(first of 12 films)
- 1795–1952 New York Deaths and Burials, 1795-1952 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index. The entries are primarily from the IGI along with some entries derived from compiled and original records such as Family Records, Church Records, and Civil Registration. There may be entries that cite a specific source.
- 1795–1952 New York Deaths and Burials, 1795-1952 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index. The entries are primarily from the IGI along with some entries derived from compiled and original records such as Family Records, Church Records, and Civil Registration. There may be entries that cite a specific source.
- 1801–1890 Barber Collection- Newspaper Deaths at Ancestry– ($); Index. Information extracted from the "Brooklyn Eagle" and the "New York Evening Post."
- 1801–1890 Barber Collection- Newspaper Deaths at Ancestry– ($); Index. Information extracted from the "Brooklyn Eagle" and the "New York Evening Post."
- 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 See Mortality Schedule information in the Federal Census section of Census for death information.
- 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 See Mortality Schedule information in the Federal Census section of Census for death information.
- 1856–1863 Index to Marriages and Deaths in the New York Herald at Ancestry– ($); Index. These newspaper notices refer to people up and down the East Coast as well as midwesterners and persons from as far west as the State of California. Also browseable.
- 1856–1863 Index to Marriages and Deaths in the New York Herald at Ancestry– ($); Index. These newspaper notices refer to people up and down the East Coast as well as midwesterners and persons from as far west as the State of California. Also browseable.
- See Town Clerks' Registers of Men Who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for death information.
- See Town Clerks' Registers of Men Who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for death information.
- 1864-5, 1874-5 See Mortality Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for death information for 1864-5, and 1874-5.
- 1864-5, 1874-5 See Mortality Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for death information for 1864-5, and 1874-5.
- 1872-present Indexes to Select Deaths from the Buffalo, NY Area - free.
- 1872-present Indexes to Select Deaths from the Buffalo, NY Area - free.
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Dutchess County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the New York, Dutchess– Vital Records topic page of the Family History Library Catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Voting Registers
Dutchess County New York Places
| ||||||||||||||||
Dutchess County New York Genealogy Websites
- The Dutchess County NYGenWeb Project, an member of The NYGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Dutchess County.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Dutchess County. (Mirror site)
Dutchess County New York Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 489. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Arlene Eakle, and Johni Cerni, The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1984), 103. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27ts.
- ↑ Dutchess County, New York Quaker Records, Ancestry, at http://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=4702 (accessed 17 November 2011).
- ↑ Handybook, 847-61.
- ↑ "2nd New York Regiment," Valley Forge Legacy, http://valleyforgemusterroll.org/regiments/ny2.asp, accessed 31 May 2012.
- ↑ "4th New York Regiment," Valley Forge Legacy, http://valleyforgemusterroll.org/regiments/ny4.asp, accessed 31 May 2012.
- ↑ Frederick Phisterer, New York in the War of the Rebellion, 3rd ed. (Albany, N.Y.: J. B. Lyon Company, 1912). Internet Archive digital copy; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 1486494-96; Fiche 6083559-64; Book 974.7 M2p.
- ↑ Family History Library Catalog, FamilySearch, accessed 6 December 2011, http://www.familysearch.org.
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 479. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
- ↑ Henry B. Hoff, "Navigating New York Probate," American Ancestors 12 (Fall 2011): 57.
- ↑ About Abstracts of Wills, Admins. and Guardianships in NY State, 1787-1835 at New York Ancestors, accessed 8 December 2011, http://newyorkancestors.org/.
- ↑ Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub., 2009), 399. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.
- ↑ Dutchess County Government. Municipal Historians of Dutchess County. Website: http://www.co.dutchess.ny.us/municipalities/munhistorians.htm, accessed January 2012
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 488-493. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 March 2013, at 00:06.
- This page has been accessed 10,232 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


