Duval County, FloridaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  go to  Florida  go to  Duval County

Guide to Duval County Florida genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Florida
Online Records


Duval County, Florida
Map
Map of Florida highlighting Duval County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Facts
Founded August 12, 1822
County Seat Jacksonville
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Denise Wells, County Coordinator
Duval County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Duval County Courthouse
330 E Bay Street
Jacksonville, FL 32202
Phone: 904.630.2028

Clerk Circuit Court has divorece, court and
land records from 1921.
County Judge has marriage and probate records. [1]

History

Parent County

1822--Duval County was created 12 August 1822 from St. Johns County.
County seat: Jacksonville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Florida counties see: Florida Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Biographies

Biographies at Duval Co, FLGenWeb

Acosta, William I. (see Scott & Acosta below)
Baker & Holmes (Baker, John D. & Holmes, J. Dobbin) - pp. 156-157
Baldwin, Dr. A. S. - pp. 148-150
Bryan, Captain James A. - pp. 184-185
Buckman, Henry H. - pp. 152-153
Campbell, A. B. - p. 163
Campbell. J. R. (Jeremiah Rockwell) - pp. 165-166
Carter, William R. - p. 161
Clark, Harrison W. - pp. 169-171
Coachman, Walter F. - p. 185
Da Costa, Charles W. - p. 172
Des Rochers, J. M. (John Mowbray) - p. 183
Doggett, John L. - p. 152
Driscoll, Captain W. J. (William J.) - pp. 181-182
Fleming, Ex-Governor (Francis P. Fleming) - pp. 151
Fletcher, Hon. D. U. (Duncan U.) - pp. 183-184
Greeley, Hon. J. C. (Jonathan C.) - pp. 180-181
Harkisheimer, Major William J. - p. 153-155
Hartridge, Augustus G. - p. 177
Hartridge, Hon. John E. - pp. 175-176
Hawthorne, F. W. - see Journals and Journalists
Knight, Raymond D. - pp. 161-162
Livingston, C. O. (Charles Ondis) - pp. 174-175
Mattair, Captain L. H. (Lewis Henry) - pp. 182-183
McMurray, Hon. P. E. - pp. 157-158
Merrill, A. R. (Alexander R.) - p. 173
Merrill, J. E. (James Eugene) - p. 173
Metcalf, Lorrettus S. - pp. 186-188
Phillips, Judge Henry B. - pp. 155-156
Schumacher, James M. - pp. 158-160
Scott & Acosta (Scott, John R. & Acosta, William I.) - pp. 168-169
Scott, John R. (see Scott & Acosta above)
Stevens, A. D. (Arthur D.) - p. 174
Stillman, John E. - p. 188
Stockton Family, The - pp. 177-179
Stockton, Thomas T. - pp. 179-180
Towns, Charles B. - pp. 165-168
Turner, Major M. P. (Michael P.) - p. 165
Ware, William S. - pp. 163-165
Wurts, John - p. 160

Cemeteries

BillionGraves:


Findagrave.com lists over 130 cemeteries in Duval County, Florida

Census

For tips on accessing Duval County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.

The 1885 Florida State Population Census includes sex, age, relationship, occupation, place of birth of each family member and parents. Also census for agriculture, manufacture and mortality.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Jacksonville
  • Panama Park
  • Springfield
  • Wesconnett

Cities and Towns

Cities and Towns of Duval Co, FLGenWeb

Atlantic Beach, Baldwin, Jacksonville,Jacksonville Beach, Neptune Beach


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Duval County, Florida. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

British West Florida at Duval Co, FLGenWeb

History of Duval Co, FLGenWeb

The Book of Jacksonville: a history, Brown, S. Paul, 1895

City Officials, 1893-95

Government Building, The

Jacksonville's Churches

Jacksonville's Hotels

Jacksonville's Mayors

Journals and Journalists

Maps

Flduval.png

Military

Civil War
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Duval County:

October 1-3, 1862 = St. John’s Bluff[3]

Map showing Civil War battles in Florida.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Duval County, Florida newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records are held by the Duval County, Florida Clerk of Court and are housed at the Duval County, Florida Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.

Marriage

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Duval County, Florida. Page 134 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 26 June 2012).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/54/Igiflorida.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 September 2014, at 20:57.
  • This page has been accessed 12,887 times.