Dymchurch, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Dymchurch, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dymchurch, Kent
Dymchurch St Peter & St Paul Kent.jpg
Dymchurch St Peter & St Paul Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Romney Marsh Liberty
County Kent
Poor Law Union Romney Marsh PLU
Registration District Romney Marsh
Records begin
Parish registers: 1624
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lympne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DYMCHURCH (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union and liberty of Romney-Marsh, locally in the hundred of Worth, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 5 miles (S. W.) from Hythe. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. [1]
Dymchurch is a village and civil parish in the Shepway district of Kent Dymchurch Wikipedia  and includes a station of Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch Railway Wikipedia

Dymchurch St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

Dymchurch St Peter and St Paul church, New Hall Close, Dymchurch has been designated as a grade II* listed building British Listed building

See also Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 264-270 at British History Online See also Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Romney Marsh Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Dymchurch, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[3]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[4]
Dymchurch, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1750-1911
1754-1911

FS PRs 1624-1896 1624-11755, 1813-1883; 1754-1812 (banns) 1624-1884
MIDK 1754-1911

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Dymchurch are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306872.



Poor Law Unions

Romney Marsh Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 110-121. Date accessed: 25 July 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  4. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 17:58.
  • This page has been accessed 2,794 times.