Eagle County, ColoradoEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Eagle County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Eagle County, Colorado|
Location in the state of Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
|Founded||February 11, 1882|
|Address|| Eagle County Courthouse|
Eagle, CO 81631-0850
Eagle County Website
County Clerk has birth and marriage records from 1883,
death and land records Clerk District Court has divorce,
probate and court records
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
County seat: Eagle 
1883--Eagle County was created 11 February 1883 from Summit County.
Business Records and Commerce
For tips on accessing Eagle County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Eagle County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Eagle County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.
You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
Colorado State Archives has placed a probate index for Eagle County for the years 1884-1935 on-line.
Family History Centers
- Basalt Regional Library District
99 Midland Ave
Basalt, CO 81621
Phone: (970) 927-4311
- Eagle Valley Library District
Eagle, CO 81631
Phone: (970) 328-8800
- Vail Public Library
292 W Meadow Dr
Vail, CO 81657
Phone: (970) 479-2184
Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the Family History Library Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Eagle County, Colorado. Page 98 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
|This Colorado-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.
While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List.
- This page was last modified on 16 July 2013, at 22:23.
- This page has been accessed 2,974 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More