Eakring, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Eakring, Nottinghamshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Eakring, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Eakring, Nottinghamshire
Eakring St+Andrew Nottinghamshire.jpg
Eakring St+Andrew Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


Parish History

EAKRING, a parish, in the union of Southwell, South-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 3¾ miles (S. S. E.) from Ollerton.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Eakring, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undisclosed

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Eakring

Eakring - St. Andrews.  Monumental Inscriptions listed alphabetically, surname, forename, age and date died, date starting 1707, with the War memorial of those killed in 1914-1918, those wounded, and those who served from Eakring.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.97, pages 11-17, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.

See Nottinghamshire Census

1801 Census - Eakring.  Census of Eakring taken on 10 March 1801, showing  given name, and surname head of household, and number of males, and females in each household.  This was done for taking ac account of the population of Great Britian.  Taken from Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 8603, transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 95, page 3-5, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n


Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Eakring in GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2015, at 00:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,586 times.