Eardisley with Bollingham, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Eardisley with Bollingham, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eardisley with Bollingham, Herefordshire
Eardisley St+Mary+Magdalene Herefordshire.JPG
Eardisley St+Mary+Magdalene Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Huntington
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Kington PLU
Registration District Presteigne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1630
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Weobley
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EARDISLEY (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Kington, hundred of Huntington, county of Hereford, 5 miles (S. by W.) from Kington; The parish is bounded by the river Wye on the south, and intersected by the road from Hereford to Kington; The Hay railway passes near the village. Several helmets have been dug up; and there are slight remains of a castle, during many centuries the residence of the Baskervilles, a family of great note in the marches of Wales. [1]

Eardisley is a village and civil parish in the Wye Valley.See Eardisley Wikipedia An illustrated history of the church is found at Herefordshire Churches

Eardisley St Mary Magdalene is an Ancient parish which includes Bollingham within its boundaries. A map of the parish boundary showing both churches is available at A church near you

The chapel of St Silas Bollingham is a chapel of ease within the parish, which dates from the 11th century restored in 1867 and 1890 and is adjacent to the Georgian Bollingham House and has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building  The chapel of ease only occasionally used for worship but is within Eardisley group in the benefice. See A church near you

The 12th century church was restored in 1863 by E.Christian and has been designated a Grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was withinPresteigne registration district

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. 

The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers references Eardisley AF61 and Bishop's transcripts 1660-1861

AR 46/1 General register 1630-1662

AF 61/1 General register 1669-1704

AF 61/2 General register, 1705-1740
Also contains notes on a tithe dispute over lands at High Park estate, 1711.
AF 61/3 General register, 1741-1812.
Also contains list of churchwardens, 1741-1752, and note of appointment of churchwardens, 1823.

AF 61/4 Baptisms 1813-1849

AF61/5 Baptisms 1849-1883

AF 61/6 Baptisms 1884-1938
Also contains plan of church, 1888.
AF 61/7 Marriages 1754-1812

AF 61/8 Marriages 1813-1837

AF 61/9 Marriages 1837- 1964

AF 61/10 Burials 1813-1860

A burial index 1813-1839 available at Reference BO 36

AF 61/11 Burials 1831-1930

Eardisley with Bollingham reference BL43

BL43/1 Banns 1823-1867

BL43/2 Banns 1868-1893

BL 43/3 Marriage Certificate counterfoils
1931-1932, 1948-1953, 1955-1961, 1971-1976, 1945-1979
BL 43/4 Burial Certificate counterfoils 1900-1908

Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Harold Street
Hereford
HR1 2QX

Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
Email: archives@herefordshire.gov.uk

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Eardisley with Bollingham

Census records

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through theFHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901


Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.

The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.Find my Past 1911 census

Poor Law Unions

Kington Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 121-124. Accessed and adapted 6 August, 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 December 2014, at 17:14.
  • This page has been accessed 1,682 times.