Earlham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Earlham, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Earlham, Norfolk
Earlham Church St Mary.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norwich Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Norwich PLU
Registration District Norwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1622
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Humbleyard
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EARLHAM, a parish in Norwich district, Norfolk; on the river Yare, near the Norfolk railway, 2 miles W of Norwich. The living is a vicarage, united with the donative of Bowthorpe, in the diocese of Norwich. [1]

Earlham is in the district of Norwich.

Resources

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438869.

Church Records

Earlham, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[7]
Earlham, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1621-1898
1621-1901
1639-1901
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1622-1929 Undefined 1622-1901 Undefined 1622-1918
JOIN
1813-1833

NTA 1621-1901
1813-1901
1639-1812

Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Norwich

Websites

Resources

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 22 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 October 2014, at 16:09.
  • This page has been accessed 2,411 times.