Early County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Early County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Early County, Georgia|
Location in the state of Georgia
|Founded||December 15, 1818|
|Address|| Early County Courthouse|
PO Box 849
Blakely, GA 31723
Early County Website
County CourthouseEarly County Courthouse
PO Box 849
Blakely, GA 31723
Many records lost, first marriage book start in 1854. Clerk of Court has cemetery, divorce, land, military and court records.
1818--Early County was created 15 December 1818 from Creek Indian Lands.
County seat: Blakely 
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
No reported loss or damage.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Early County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Early County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Wills 1822-1832 (digital images). See names of testators Georgia Pioneers
- Wills 1839-1895 (digital images). See names of testators. Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Will Book B, 1839-1895 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Will Book 2, 1896-1941 Georgia Pioneers
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..
- 1820-1889 - Early County Marriage Index 1820-1889. Batch M712701 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1834-1850 - Early County Marriage Index 1834-1850. Batch M002548 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1868-1901 - Early County Marriage Index 1868-1901. Batch M712702 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1889-1895 - Early County Marriage Index 1889-1895. Batch M712703 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1859-60, 1879-80 - Early County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at [http://www.anrdoezrs.net/qh105mu2-u1HKJNRJOIHJJPJMKJK?sid=familysearchwiki&url=
http://search.ancestry.com/Browse/list.aspx?dbid=8756 Ancestry] ($).
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- Early County, GA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Georgia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Early County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers ($)
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Early County, Georgia. Page 154 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 29. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.
|This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.
While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List.
- This page was last modified on 3 October 2014, at 00:07.
- This page has been accessed 9,018 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki