Earsdon, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Earsdon, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Earsdon, Northumberland
Earsdon St Alban Northumberland.jpg
Earsdon St Alban Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Tynemouth PLU
Registration District Tynemouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1589
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle upon Tyne
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EARSDON, a township, in the parochial chapelry of Hebburn, union of Morpeth, W. division of Morpeth ward, N. division of Northumberland, 5½ miles (N.) from Morpeth.[1]

Additional information:

St Alban Earsdon was created as a chapelry within Tynemouth, Northumberland ancient parish and as a parish in 1761. Blyth, Northumberland was created as a chapelry witin the parish of Earsdon until its creation as a parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections  DDR/EA/PBT/2/88 Date: 1762-1844
Contents: Including transcripts from Blyth, 1762-1844. Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Earsdon, St Alban: The registers of marriages and burials commence in 1589, and that of baptisms in 1605. From these dates to 1618, several years are missing. There are no entries from October 1618 to May 1620. There are  gaps from April 1631 to March 1638, and another from November 1650 to June 1654. The earliest vestry book commences in 1656.

Records of baptisms 1604-1974, marriages 1589-1989 and burials 1589-1991 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Baptisms 1604-1893, marriages 1589-1851, banns 1754-1889 and burials 1589-1852 can also be seen at Tyne and Wear Archives Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1604-1813 and marriages 1589-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1589-1812 and banns 1754-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1604-1813, marriages 1589-1812, burials 1589-1813 and monumental inscriptions are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438893.

Poor Law Unions

Tynemouth Poor Law Union,Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 06 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 21:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,985 times.