Easby, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire

Guide to Easby, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gotoarrow.png
Easby, Yorkshire
Easby St Agatha Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Gilling; West Gilling
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Richmond PLU
Registration District Richmond
Records begin
Parish registers: 1670
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Richmond
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Richmond
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Easby St Agatha is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire.Other places in the parish include: Brompton on Swale, Brompton upon Swale, Brompton upon Swale with Citadilla, Aske, Skeeby, Waithwith Grange, and Citadilla.

EASBY (St. Agatha), a parish, in the union of Richmond, partly in the wapentake of Gilling-West,and partly in that of Gilling-East, N. riding of York; Swale, Easby, and Skeeby; and containing 771 inhabitants, of whom 105 are in the township of Easby,1 mile (E. S. E.) from Richmond. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Easby exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
EASBY PARISH (1801) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1801-1848

1801-1846

None

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

NBI

1812-1869

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1670.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464234.

Poor Law Unions

Richmond Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 124-127. Date accessed: 9 Oct 2013.
  2. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (North Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:50.
  • This page has been accessed 2,667 times.