Easebourne, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Guide to Eastbourne, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Easebourne, Sussex
Easebourne St Mary West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easebourne
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Midhurst PLU
Registration District Midhurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Midhurst
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EASEBOURNE (St. Margaret), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Midhurst, hundred of Easebourne, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 1 mile (N. E.) from Midhurst; There is a small Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Easebourne St Mary is an Ancient parish in the Chichester district of West Sussex.

Easebourne St Mary church history Easebourne St Mary

The parish church of St Mary has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

Easebourne Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

see alsoEasebourne Wikipedia and  A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 124-127.  here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
Easebourne, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1538-1876 1538-1876
SOPC Undefined
Undefined

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Easebourne

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions

Midhurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.<br>

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 124-127. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  3. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 August 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,740 times.