East Ardsley, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png East Ardsley

East Ardsley, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Wakefield PLU
Registration District Wakefield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ARDSLEY, EAST,a parish, in the union of Wakefield, Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 3½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Wakefield; containing 900 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

ARDSLEY (East), a parish in Wakefield district, W. R. Yorkshire. Pop., 1,069. Houses, 219. There is a United Free Methodist chapel. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of East Ardsley exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[3][4][5][6]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
EAST ARDSLEY PARISH (1598) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1654-1812 1654-1812 1654-1812 1654-1812 1654-1812 1654-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910 1813-1935 1813-1935 1813-1917 1813-1917
FS 1598, 1603-1634, 1663-1890

1598, 1602-1633, 1665-1846

1826, 1850-1887

JOIN None
1813-1837

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of East Ardsleyto which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the East Ardsley page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

East Ardsley is an 'ancient' parish (created before 1813).  Church of England records for East Ardsley survive from 1662 (St.Michael's).

The original registers are deposited at theWest Yorkshire Archives in Wakefield. 

The copies made by the minister (ordered by an Act of 1598) and sent each year to the Bishop of the diocese (known as parish register transcripts or Bishop's transcripts) survive from 1598 (with gaps) and are deposited at the West Yorkshire Archives branch in Sheepscar, Leeds. 

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City has both parish registers and bishop's transcripts on microfilm for East Ardsley which are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog.  Many of these records are indexed in the International Genealogical Index available online through the 'Advanced Search' at www.familysearch.org.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464238.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 66-69. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales1870-72 Date accessed: 10th January 2014
  3. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
  4. 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  5. 'West Yorkshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1935,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  6. 'West Yorkshire, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1985,' Ancestry, accessed 13 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 4,576 times.