East Baton Rouge Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Local histories are available for East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Louisiana  Gotoarrow.png  East Baton Rouge Parish

Guide to East Baton Rouge Parish Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Louisiana
Online Records


East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana
Map
Map of Louisiana highlighting East Baton Rouge Parish
Location in the state of Louisiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 22, 1810
County Seat Baton Rouge
Courthouse
LAEastBatonRougecourthouse.jpg
Website: ebrclerkofcourt.org
Adopt-a-wiki page
LaGenWeb logo.gif This page adopted by:
LAGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Parish Coordinator
[ East Baton Rouge Parish LAGenWeb]
Adopt a page today
 


Contents

Parish Courthouse

East Baton Rouge Parish Courthouse
222 St Louis Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70802-5817
Phone: 225.383.0378

Parish Clerk has marriage records from 1840, divorce,
probate, court and land records from 1782[1]

History

Parent Parish

  • 1810--East Baton Rouge Parish was created 22 December 1810 from Feliciana (Old) Parish.
    Parish seat: Baton Rouge [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Louisiana Parishes see: Louisiana Parishes with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities and Towns, LAGenWeb Project

Neighboring Parishes or Counties

Resources

Laeastbatonrouge.png

African American


Cemeteries

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190031,153
191034,58011.0%
192044,51328.7%
193068,20853.2%
194088,41529.6%
1950158,23679.0%
1960230,05845.4%
1970285,16724.0%
1980366,19128.4%
1990380,1053.8%
2000412,8528.6%
2010440,1716.6%
East Baton Rouge Parish Census Data[2]

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Diocese of Baton Rouge

Baptism

  • 1707-1769 - Diocese of Baton Rouge Baptism Index 1707-1769. Batch C584305 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1770-1803 - Diocese of Baton Rouge Baptism Index 1770-1803. Batch C584301 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1804-1819 - Diocese of Baton Rouge Baptism Index 1804-1819. Batch C584302 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1820-1829 - Diocese of Baton Rouge Baptism Index 1820-1829. Batch C584303 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1830-1839 - Diocese of Baton Rouge Baptism Index 1830-1839. Batch C584304 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1840-1847 - Diocese of Baton Rouge Baptism Index 1840-1847. Batch C584306 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1848-1852 - Diocese of Baton Rouge Baptism Index 1848-1852. Batch C584307 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Marriage

  • 1707-1769 - Diocese of Baton Rouge Marriage Index 1707-1769. Batch M584305 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1770-1803 - Diocese of Baton Rouge Marriage Index 1770-1803. Batch M584301 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1804-1819 - Diocese of Baton Rouge Marriage Index 1804-1819. Batch M584302 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1820-1829 - Diocese of Baton Rouge Marriage Index 1820-1829. Batch M584303 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1830-1839 - Diocese of Baton Rouge Marriage Index 1830-1839. Batch M584304 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1830-1839 - Diocese of Baton Rouge Marriage Index 1830-1839. Batch M584308 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1840-1847 - Diocese of Baton Rouge Marriage Index 1840-1847. Batch M584306 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1848-1852 - Diocese of Baton Rouge Marriage Index 1848-1852. Batch M584307 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.

Local Histories

Louisiana Museums

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana:

- 11th Regiment, Louisiana Infantry (Confederate)


Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battles were fought in East Baton Rouge Parish.  

Map showing Civil War battles in Louisiana.

...transcribed for the East Baton Rouge Par, LAGenWeb Project

  1. Heroes of East Baton Rouge Par.
  2. Fatal Casualties of the Vietnam War

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana newspapers in online catalogs like:

 

Photographs

Photos of E. Baton Rouge Par, LAGenWeb Project

Probate

Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.

See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Louisiana Probate Records  ~  information on. .

Taxation

Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Vital Records of E. Baton Rouge Par., LAGenWeb Project

...transcribed for the East Baton Rouge Par, LAGenWeb Project

  1. Executions, 1776-1950

Louisiana Records and Statistics Information  ~ where and how to order information. 

Louisiana Public Record Search

Louisiana Birth Certificates

Louisiana Death Records

Social Security Death Index

Researchers may obtain any of the following vital records by visiting the Louisiana State Archives Research Library or may request the records by mail. The Archives maintains the following:
Orleans Parish birth records for 1819-1907 (births over 100 years ago)*
(Index for 1790-1818, but no records)
Orleans Parish marriage records for 1870-1957 (marriages over 50 years ago)**
(Index for 1831-1869, but no records.)
Orleans Parish death records for 1819-1957 (deaths over 50 years ago)*
(Index for 1804-1818)
Statewide death records for 1911-1957 (deaths over 50 years ago)*
They also have passenger manifests for the Port of New Orleans, military service records, Confederate Pension Applications, and records from the State Land Office to name a few.

Be sure to read the fee schedule.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Louisiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies


Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana p 290 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2007-06-12. 
  3. 3.00 3.01 3.02 3.03 3.04 3.05 3.06 3.07 3.08 3.09 3.10 3.11 3.12 3.13 3.14 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/c2/Igilouisiana.pdf.
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August, 2012)
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:06.
  • This page has been accessed 14,457 times.