East Beckham, Norfolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from East Beckham, Norfolk)

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to East Beckham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
East Beckham, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Erpingham
Registration District Erpingham
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Alymerton and see Gresham
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Repps
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office


Parish History

BECKHAM, EAST (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Erpingham, hundred of North Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 4½ miles (W. by S.) from Cromer. [1] East Beckham St Helen is an Ancient Parish in the Repps deanery of the Diocese of Norwich.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Erpingham 1837-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974
  • The Register Office, 18 Kings Arms Street, North Walsham, NR28 9JX.
    Tel/Fax: 01692 406220. E-mail: registration.nwalsham@norfolk.gov.uk

Church records

East Beckham, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Norfolk Parish Registers Browse (findmypast) - (£)[2]
East Beckham, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1689-1952 1689-1836 1689-1996

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 652 East and West Beckham

Images of the parish registers may be viewed online in Historic Records (formerly Record Search) Norfolk Record Office reference PD 652 East Beckham with West Beckham

Baptisms, 1689-1812; marriages, 1689-1749; burials, 1695-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1900; baptisms in Beckham workhouse, 1867-1900. Marriages, 1756-1811; banns, 1756-1805. Marriages, 1813-1836. Burials, 1813-1901. Banns, 1824-1904.
2262677 Items 1 - 6

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438853.


http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/EastBeckham.htm transcript of 1891 census

Poor Law Unions

Erpingham http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/erpingham_workhouse.htm

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 188-194. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Parish Registers Browse', findmypast, accessed 31 July 2015.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 July 2015, at 20:36.
  • This page has been accessed 2,314 times.