East Buckland, DevonEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to East Buckland, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|East Buckland, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||South Molton PLU|
|Registration District||South Molton|
|Parish registers: 1684|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1597|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
BUCKLAND, EAST (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of South Molton, hundred of Braunton, South Molton and N. divisions of Devon, 5 miles (N. W. by N.) from South Molton. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241303.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:
- 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
- Vision of Britain
Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:18.
- This page has been accessed 1,538 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki