East Chiltington, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to East Chiltington, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Chiltington, Sussex
East Chiltington Parish Church Sussex.jpg
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Street
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Chailey PLU
Registration District Lewes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1587; For more records see Westmeston
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Malling
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling; Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHILTINGTON, EAST, a village, in the parish of Westmeston, union of Chailey, hundred of Street, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 5 miles (N. W. by N.) from Lewes.[1]

East Chiltington was formed as a chapelry of Westmeston, Sussex Ancient Parish. Since 1909 it has been detached from that parish and linked now with neighbor Plumpton, Sussex

History of the Church East Chiltington The parish church has no dedication, but has been designated asa grade II* listed building and dates from the 12th century British listed building

See East Chiltington for information about the parish church and Chailey Union Workhouse Chapel East Chiltington Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) includes Chailey Union Workhouse Chapel. See also East Chiltington Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Chiltington, East

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464164.

Poor Law Unions

Chailey Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 597-599. Date accessed: 27 September 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,827 times.