East Crompton, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to East Crompton, Lancashire family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Crompton, Lancashire
StJames Shaw and East Crompton.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Oldham PLU
Registration District Oldham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochdale
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

CROMPTON, a township, in the borough, parochial chapelry, and union of Oldham, parish of Prestwich-cum-Oldham, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 3 miles (N. by E.) from Oldham,containing the villages of Shaw, High Compton,and Cowlishaw .There are various places of worship for dissenters. Called East Crompton. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

East Crompton chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Prestwich to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
EAST CROMPTON ST JAMES Chapelry (1845) Indexes - see also SHAW
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1845-1915 1828-1930 1847-1964
FS 1845-1910 1845-1938 1847-1928
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1847-1974 None
PRESTWICH ST MARY PARISH (1600) Indexes (ancient parish containing EAST CROMPTON Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1603-1910 1600-1935 1712-1921
LOPC 1603-1936 1603-1895 1603-1921
LBMD 1837-1902 1837-1925 1837-1877
FMP None 1603-1712 None
AC 1603-1711 1603-1711 1603-1711


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding East Crompton and comprising the whole ancient parish of Prestwich to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the PRESTWICH PARISH page.


Parish registers for East Crompton, 1845-1964 Microfilm of original records formerly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.
East Crompton was a chapelry in Crompton township, Prestwich parish. It became an ecclesiastical parish in 1844. The church is known as St. James'.
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: L 216.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1845-1935.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356151 Items 3 - 5
Marriages, 1847-Aug. 1938.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356152
Marriages, Aug. 1938-1951. Burials, 1847-1928, 1954, 1964.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356153 Items 1 - 3


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306929.


Poor Law Unions

Oldham Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53008 British History online Crompton

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis , A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 729-733. Date accessed: 06 August 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 4,082 times.