East Finchley, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png East Finchley

Guide to East Finchley, Middlesex family history and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

East Finchley Holy Trinity, in Finchley St Mary's Parish, was created a chapelry in the year 1846. The new cemeteries for St. Pancras, London, St. Mary, Islington, and St. Mary-le-Bone, are nearby and within the parish.[1]

Holy Trinity Chapelry was built in 1846.  The vicarage of Whetstone is a separate chapel--which see.

There were at least three dissenting churches within the parishes including an Independent chapel,built in 1865, with two additional unknown chapels.[2]

East Finchley had three pre-1900 district churches within itself, as part of the civil borough and parish of Finchley. These churches included the following:

  • Holy Trinity Church Lane which commenced by about 1846
  • All Saints Durham Road, East Finchley which began by about 1891
  • St Paul Long Lane, East Finchley which was built and in service by about 1886

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438779.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web site

Finchleo on GENUKI

Resources

  1. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2 Date accessed and adapted 22 October 2013.
  2. 'Finchley: Churches', A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 6: Friern Barnet, Finchley, Hornsey with Highgate (1980), pp. 82-86. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=22508 Date accessed: 13 February 2012

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 September 2014, at 19:57.
  • This page has been accessed 1,903 times.