East Greenwich Christ Church, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  go to  Kent Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to East Greenwich, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Greenwich Christ Church, Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Greenwich Town
County Kent
Poor Law Union Greenwich PLU
Registration District Greenwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1868
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

East Greenwich Christ Church Trafalgar Road was formed as an Ecclesiastical parish in 1840 from Greenwich St Alfege, Kent Ancient Parish.

The church was built 1846-1849 to design by John Brown and Robert Kerr. The church was declared redundant in 1987 and partly demolished, the remainder is a community centre (the Forum). The new church (built 1989) is adjacent but connected to the old church building. It is now within the East Greenwich Team Ministry.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Family History Library film numbers
Greenwich, East Christ Church

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. 

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306881.

See Kent Census

Poor Law Unions

Greenwich Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,096 times.