East Grinstead, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to East Grinstead, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Grinstead, Sussex
East Grinstead St Swithun West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Grinstead
County Sussex
Poor Law Union East Grinstead PLU
Registration District East Grinstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Malling
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GRINSTED, EAST (St. Swithin), a market-town and parish, the head of a union, and formerly a representative borough, in the hundred of East Grinsted, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 19¾ miles (N.) from Lewes, and 30 (S. by E.) from London.[1]


East Grinstead St Swithin (sometimes Swithun) is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Sussex. Other places in the parish include: Ashurst, Burliegh Arches Manor, and Clarkes Manor.

St Swithun church history The church of St Swithun has been designated as a grade B listed Building British listed building East Grinstead church history introduction List of demolished worship places in West Sussex

From the Ancient parish the following were formed:

St Mary church history

St Barnabas Sunnyside

St Luke Stone Quarry

East Grinstead Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also East Grinstead Wikipedia for history of the Anglican Church development in the town and the four churches.

Ashurst Wood St Dunstan Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Also A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 344-347.  here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see East Grinstead registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG Phone01323 464780 Fax 01323 431386 email eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

East Grinstead, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
EAST GRINSTEAD PARISH (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1558-1661 bgcolor="#ffcccc" 1558-1661 bgcolor="#ccffcc" 1574-1593 bgcolor="#ccffff"
IGI 1558-1876 1662-1875
PRTS 1558-1900
1560-1900
1575-1899
SOPC Undefined

Undefined

East Grinstead St. Swithun records held at West Sussex Record Office

Bap 1638-1897
Marr 1638-1926
Bur 1638-1867
Bishop’s transcripts 1606-1899

Links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection Grinstead, East

Leppard, M. J. East Grimstead Parish Registers 1558-1661: A Supplementary List of Additions and Corrections.  Additions and corrections to the Parish Register of East Grinstead.  Includes extracts from Wills to documents,  burial entries that were lost in a fire, as well as baptisms and marriages.  Article to be found in magazine, Sussex Family Historian.  Vol. q. #2. Sept 1973 pages 41-44, Family History Library Ref. 942.25 B2su

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464162.

[1]

Poor Law Unions

East Grinstead Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 344-347.Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:29.
  • This page has been accessed 3,296 times.