East Guldeford, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to East Guldeford, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Guldeford, Sussex
Downloaded1345655905708643311 East+Guldeford St+Mary East+Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Goldspur
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Rye PLU
Registration District Rye
Records begin
Parish registers: 1705
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hastings
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GUILDFORD, or GULDEFORD (EAST), a parish in Rye district, Sussex; on the river Rother, and on the Hastings and Ashford railway, 1¼ mile NE of Rye. Posttown, Rye. Acres, 2, 430.  The church is good.[1]

East Guldeford St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the Walland Marsh whose boundary forms the county boundary with neighbouring Romney Marsh parishes of Brenzett, Kent Brookland, Kent and Ivychurch, Kent

The history of the parish  may be found at Sussex Parish churches 

The parish church of St Mary which dates from 1505 has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

From this parish was formed the parish of Camber St Thomas which had been a mission church in the 1900's destroyed by enemy bombing and formed as an Ecclesiastical parish in 1955.

See also Broomhill (East Sussex) Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Camber St Thomas Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

East Guldeford Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Downloaded8869421001997740932 Camber St+Thomas +East+Sussex.jpg

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was within Rye Registration district, from 1935 this was incorporated into Battle Registration district
Certiificates may be obtained from
East Sussex County Council
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

East Guldeford, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
East Guldeford, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1605-1705, 1880-1893
1606-1705 (gaps)

IGI 1705-1881 1606-1893
NBI

1813-1889
SOPC Undefined


East Guldeford Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Guldeford, East

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464157.


Poor Law Unions

Rye Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, John,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 30 December 2013.
  5. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 August 2014, at 21:57.
  • This page has been accessed 1,294 times.