East Harling, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NorfolkGotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to East Harling, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Harling, Norfolk
East Harling Norfolk contributor Evelyn Simak.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Guiltcross
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Guiltcross PLU
Registration District Guiltcross
Records begin
Parish registers: 1544
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rockland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HARLING, EAST (St. Peter and St. Paul), a market-town and parish, in the union and hundred of Guilt-Cross, W. division of Norfolk, 22 miles (S. W.) from Norwich, and 89 (N. E. by N.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, andPrimitive and Wesleyan Methodists. [1]


East Harling St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

East Harling is a village in the civil parish of Harling, and is located some 8 miles (13 km) east of the town of Thetford and 25 miles (40 km) south-west of the city of Norwich.

It is within the Breckland District for local government purposes.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Guiltcross 1837-1902
  • Thetford 1902-1935
  • Wayland 1935-1974 (known as Harling)

Church records

East Harling, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[7]
East Harling, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1542-1900
1542-1911
1542-1901
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1544-1901 Undefined 1544-1911 Undefined 1544-1901
JOIN
1813-1837

TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 219,1-6,8-10, 14

Parish registers for East Harling Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England. Early entries in Latin.

Baptisms, 1544-1665, 1677-1721; Marriages, 1544-1720; Burials, 1544-1678, 1711-1721. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1654-1659. Baptisms and burials, 1721-1812; Marriages, 1721-1754. Baptisms, 1813-1838. Baptisms, 1838-1888. Baptisms, 1888-1901. Marriages, 1754-1812; Banns, 1754-1822. Marriages, 1813-1837. FHL BRITISH Film 1596037 Items 2 - 9
Marriages, 1837-1911. Burials, 1813-1854. Banns, 1823-1873. Banns, 1873-1900. FHL BRITISH Film 1596037 Items 10 - 13
Burials, 1854-1858. FHL BRITISH Film 1911760 Item 19
Burials, 1857-1901. FHL BRITISH Film 1911761 Item 1

Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812 Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Baptisms and burials 1725-1812 Marriages 1725-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526818 Item 3

Known Issue
Waypoint for the marriage register book 1754-1812 has been incorrectly way pointed as a baptismal register. Correction of waypoint awaits enginering.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438861.


Poor Law Unions

Guiltcross Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Parish chest materials of East Harling, 1572-1862 Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.Norfolk Record Office nos.: PD219/56, 61-62, 98-99.

Parish chest materials which are identified in these records as churchwardens' accounts and/or vestry minutes, can contain a variety of records including accounts, minutes, lists of parish officers, church and/or poor rates, payments made to the poor, lists of charities, donors to special collections, terriers (identification of parish boundaries and properties), description of church silver or plate, copies of wills and various other records pertaining to the history and life of the parish.

Dates on some title boards incorrect.

Churchwardens', constables' accounts, etc., 1572-1611, 1630-1820, 1659, 1634, 1820-1862; Bastardy bonds, 1653-1811 (many years missing); Bastardy orders, 1773-1830. FHL BRITISH Film 2149278 Items 2 - 6

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 409-413. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 22 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.
http://www.norfolkchurches.co.uk/eastharling/eastharling.htm Norfolk Churches website

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:21.
  • This page has been accessed 2,696 times.