Hauxwell, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from East Hauxwell, Yorkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png East Hauxwell

Guide to Hauxwell, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Hauxwell, Yorkshire
St Oswald East Hauxwell Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Hang
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Leyburn PLU
Registration District Leyburn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1593
Bishop's Transcripts: 1637
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Catterick
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Catterick
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Hauxwell  St Oswald is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire.

Other places in the parish include: Barden, Barden Dykes, Barden near Leyburn, West Hauxwell, East Hauxwell, Garriston, West Haukswell, and East Haukswell. HAUKSWELL, or Hauxwell (St. Oswald), a parish, in the union of Leyburn, wapentake of HangWest, N. riding of York, 5 miles (S.) from Richmond;containing, with the townships of Barden and Garriston,338 inhabitants, of whom 128 are in the township of East, and 45 in that of West, Haukswell. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Hauxwell exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
HAUXWELL PARISH (1637) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1577-1882 1577-1882 1592-1893 1592-1893 1593-1812 1593-1812
FS 1637-1848

1637-1837

None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1593.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464232.

Poor Law Unions

Leyburn Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 444-447. Date accessed: 6 December 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 6 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,551 times.