East Hoathly, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes
East Hoathly, Sussex
East Hoathly Church East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shiplake
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Uckfield PLU
Registration District Uckfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pevensey
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HOATHLY, EAST, a parish, in the union of Uckfield, hundred of Shiplake, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 5 miles (S. E. by S.) from Uckfield.[1]

East Hoathly is an Ancient Parish in the Wealden district of Sussex, which includes  Whitesmiths, Grays, and The Nursery. The civil parish of East Hoathly with Halland ( which contained a former Anglican mission chapel) joins the two villages for local government purposes.

A history of the church East Hoathly

The parish church (dedication unknown) has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

East Hoathly Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) See for details of the Halland mission chapel.

Halland Mission Chapel East Hoathly Parish East Sussex.JPG

See also East Hoathly with Halland Wikipedia a list of places to worship in Wealden Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Uckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
East Sussex
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone 01323 464780
Fax 01323 431386
eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

East Hoathly, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
East Hoathly, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
SOPC Undefined




Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hoathly, East

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464163.

 

Poor Law Unions

Uckfield Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 521-524. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,344 times.