East Looe, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to East Looe, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Martin-by-Looe-East.jpg

Contents

Parish History

LOOE, EAST, a sea-port andincorporated markettown, having separate jurisdiction, in the parish of St. Martin, union of Liskeard, locally in the hundred of West, E. division of Cornwall, 16 miles (W.) from Plymouth, and 232 (W. S. W.) from London. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, and Wesleyans. [1]

East Looe St Martin

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

East Looe, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
East Looe, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1709-1810, 1846-1896
1854-1913
1927-1936
FMP 1846-1849
FREG 1846-1896
1850-1907
1927-1974
FS PRs 1850-1907 1927-1974
TGEN 1709-1807



Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 127

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241274.

Overview, Include any unique information, such as the census for X year were destroyed, Collection in FHL and link to catalog, Online sites.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Liskeard Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction for this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records for the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain


Web Sites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 175-179. Date accessed: 23 March 2013
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013. Ambiguously described as 'Looe.'
  4. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 22 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2014, at 22:09.
  • This page has been accessed 951 times.