East Malling, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  KentEngland  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to East Malling, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Malling, Kent
East Malling St James the Great Kent.jpg
East Malling St James the Great Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Larkfield
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling PLU
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MALLING, EAST (St. James), a parish, in the union of Malling, hundred of Larkfield, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 4¾ miles (W. N. W.) from Maidstone. [1]


East Malling and Larkfield is a civil parish in the Tonbridge and Malling district of Kent East Malling and Larkfield Wikipedia and contains two ecclesiastical parishes

East Malling St James is an Ancient Parish which included the hamlet of Larkfield (formerly known as new Hythe)

The parish church of St James, The Grange, East Malling has been designated as grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 508-517 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See East Malling North West Kent Family History Society which includes other places of worship in East Malling and East Malling St James

Larkfield Holy Trinity which dates from 1854 and served initially as a chapel of ease to East Malling St James

The church of the Holy Trinity New Hythe Lane has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building See Kent Churches website

See Larkfield North West Kent Family History Society and Larkfield Holy Trinity

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

East Malling, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
East Malling, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1876-1885


FMP 1570-1899
1570-1901
1570-1924
FS BTs 1813-1905 1813-1905 1813-1905
FS PRs 1570-1899 1570-1756, 1813-1875; 1754-1814 1570-1876
IGI 1570-1875 1570-1875

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for East Malling are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census returns for East Malling 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Malling Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

East Maling on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 216-221. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  7. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 4,205 times.