East Peckham, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to East Peckham, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Peckham, Kent
East Peckham St Michael Kent.jpg
East Peckham St Michael Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Twyford
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling PLU
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1667
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malling
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

East Peckham is a village and civil parish in the Tonbridge and Malling district of Kent. East Peckham Wikipedia

East Peckham St Michael was an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester.The redundant church is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust. St Michael's Church East Peckham

The Church of St Michael, Church Lane, East Peckham has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 91-106. Data accessed: 9 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See East Peckham North West Kent Family History Society for Anglican churches in East Peckham and other places of worship and East Peckham St Michael

East Peckham Holy Trinity was also built in 1842 and created as a parish from St Michael in 1843. The Church of Holy Trinity has been designated as a grade II listed  building British listed building

A map of the parish is available A church near you

See Kent Churhces website


Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis -

PECKHAM, EAST (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Malling, hundred of Twyford, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 5½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Tonbridge. There is also a meeting-house for Wesleyans. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

East Peckham, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
East Peckham, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1563-1911
1558-1962
1558-1940
FS BTs 1813-1905 1813-1905 1813-1905
NBI

1558-1812

Family History Library film numbers
Peckham, East
See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. 

Land Tax

Images for East Peckham are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

East Peckham Census Returns 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Malling Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 542-545. Date accessed: 24 April 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013. Ambiguously described as 'East Peckham' with no saint's dedication.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 15:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,574 times.