East Quantoxhead,SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to East Quantoxhead,Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Quantoxhead,Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Williton and Freemanners
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Williton PLU
Registration District Williton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridgwater
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

QUANTOXHEAD, EAST (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Williton, hundred of Williton and Freemanners, W. division of Somerset, 13½ miles (N. W. by W.) from Bridgwater.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

East Quantoxhead,Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
WEST = West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions - free[8]
EAST QUANTOXHEAD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1654-1812

FREG 1608-1851
1608-1870
1608-1681, 1700-1851
JOIN
1654-1836

MARR
1608-1836

NBI

1608-1812
PALL
1790-1812

WEST 1700-1851
1654-1870
1700-1851

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474607.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/EastQuantoxhead/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 19 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  5. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions, accessed 21 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 August 2014, at 15:06.
  • This page has been accessed 1,726 times.