East Somerton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to East Somerton, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Somerton, Norfolk
Ruins St Mary East Somerton.JPG
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Flegg
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union East and West Flegg PLU
Registration District Flegg
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Winterton
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Flegg
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SOMERTON, EAST (St. Mary), a parish, in the East and West Flegg incorporation, hundred of West Flegg, E. division of Norfolk, 9½ miles (N. by W.) from Yarmouth.[1]

East Somerton St Mary was an Ancient chapelry in the Ancient Parish of Winterton, Norfolk.

The chapelry fell into disuse after the Reformation and was the chapel to nearby Burnley Hall. The ruined remains of the nave and tower are still a reminder of the sixe of the building.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Flegg 1837-1924
  • Yarmouth and Flegg 1925-1938
  • Acle 1938-1974
  • Norwich Outer
  • Norwich

Church records

No extant records of this chapelry remain-refer to Winterton, Norfolk registers for Winterton cum east Somerton Norfolk Record Office PD 463

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438856.

Poor Law Unions

East and West Flegg http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Flegg/Flegg.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 133-139. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,589 times.