East Stoke, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes


East Stoke, Nottinghamshire
East+Stoke St+Oswald Nottinghamshire.jpg
East+Stoke St+Oswald Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newark-upon-Trent; Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell PLU
Registration District Newark; Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Elston Chapel beginning 1584
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602; Separate records exist for Elston Chapel beginning 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STOKE, EAST (St. Oswald), a parish, in the union of Southwell, N. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 3¾ miles (S. W.) from Newark. [1]

ELSTON, a chapelry, in the parish of East Stoke, union of Southwell, S. division of the wapentake of Newark and of the county of Nottingham, 5½ miles (S. W. by S.) from Newark. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [2]

Additional information:

East Stoke St Oswald is an Ancient Parish  in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire.

Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project are researching this parish East Stoke St Oswald

The Parish church of St Oswald has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See also

East Stoke Wikipedia which includes links to the battle of Stoke Field


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

East Stoke, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
EAST STOKE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1538-1812

Elston Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
ELSTON CHAPELRY Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1584-1814


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Stoke, East

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Transcribed by Ivimey-Cook, Ann.  A List of the Inhabitants of East Stoke in the County of Nottinghamshire 24 October 1828. Gives forename, and surname.  Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD.T 8/14, transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 105, page 44, FHL Ref 942.52

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

East Stoke in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/EastStoke/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 November 2014, at 19:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,301 times.