East Teignmouth, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from East Teignmouth, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.pngDevon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to East Teignmouth, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Teignmouth, Devon
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Exminster
County Devon
Poor Law Union Newton Abbot PLU
Registration District Newton Abbot
Records begin
Parish registers: 1665
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kenn
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TEIGNMOUTH, a sea-port and market-town, comprising two parishes, called East and West, in the union of Newton-Abbott, hundred of Exminster, Teignbridge and S. divisions of Devon, 15 miles (S. by E.) from Exeter. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Calvinistic Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

East Teignmouth, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Devon Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
East Teignmouth, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1665-1915 1665-1915



IGI 1606-1837
1606-1620, 1633-1641, 1666-1837


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in East Teignmouth, but the exact parish has not been identified

  • Baptist
  • Plymouth Brethren
  • Presbyterian
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241310.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

East Teignmouth on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 310-314. Date Accessed: 27 October 2013.
  2. 'Devon Parish Records Coverage,' Findmypast, accessed 15 November 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2015, at 01:33.
  • This page has been accessed 2,170 times.