East Tisted, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png East Tisted

Guide to East Tisted, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Tisted, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pre-1834 - Selborne; Alton; Post-1833 - Selborne
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Alton PLU
Registration District Alton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1702
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alton
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office


Contents

Parish History

TISTED, EAST (St. James), a parish, in the union of Alton, hundred of Selborne, Alton and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 5 miles (S. by W.) from Alton with the tything of Rotherfield.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

East Tisted, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
EAST TISTED PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1561-1877
1538-1832

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288790.

Genealogy From Periodicals

Hall, Derek and Barber, Norman.  The Nortons of Southwick. The Genealogy of a Seventeenth Century Hampshire Family.  Describes some of the confusion of the family history, but then describes the ancient seat of the Nortons of East Tisted, Hampshire, starting in 1568-1685 and the history of the family.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.X, no.4, February, 1984, pages 189-194, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 362-366. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 5 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 April 2014, at 19:56.
  • This page has been accessed 1,885 times.