East Wickham, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to East Wickham, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Wickham, Kent
East Wickham St Michael Old Church Kent.jpg
East Wickham St Michael Old Church Kent
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lessness
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dartford PLU
Registration District Dartford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1730; For more records see Plumstead
Bishop's Transcripts: 1719
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

East Wickham is part of the London Borough of Bexley although historically a village in Kent East Wickham Wikipedia

East Wickham St Michael is an Ancient Parish formed initially as a chapelry of Plumstead St Margaret, Kent; the former church of St Michael is now a Greek Orthodox Church Upper Wickham Lane and  has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 184-203. Date accessed: 2 December 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

The modern parish is within the Diocese of Southwark Information about the church and the church of St Michael dates from 1932.

See East Wickham North West Kent Family History Society and East Wickham St Michael

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dartford registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

East Wickham, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
East Wickham, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1718-1720
1718-1720

FREG
1813-1815

FS BTs 1718-1846 1718-1846 1718-1846
FS PRs 1715-1875 1715-1876 1715-1883
IGI 1730-1875 1718-1721, 1730-1751, 1783-1812

Census records

Census returns for East Wickham 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Dartford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

WICKHAM, EAST (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Dartford, hundred of Lessness, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 3½ miles (W. N. W.) from Crayford. [6]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  6. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 565-567. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 20:43.
  • This page has been accessed 2,439 times.