East Wittering, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to East Wittering, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Wittering, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manhood
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westhampnett PLU
Registration District Westhampnett
Records begin
Parish registers: 1658
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boxgrove
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WITTERING, EAST, a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Manhood, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 6 miles (S. W. by S.) from Chichester.[1] East Wittering is an Ancient parish in the village and civil parish of East Wittering in the Chichester District of West Sussex.

The history of the Ancient Parish and the church of St Anne (seeEastbourne St Anne Upperton Gardens which is within the Ancient Parish Wittering St Anne and Assumption of St Mary the Virgin

The church of the Assumption of St Mary the Virgin has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

East Wittering Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Westhampnett registration district From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

East Wittering, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
East Wittering, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1571-1572, 1590-1887
1571-1572, 1591-1901 (gaps)

PRTS 1653-1902
1653-1901
1653-1681, 1694-1906

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Wittering, East

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

Westhampnett Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 636-639. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 840 times.