East Woodhay, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png East Woodhay

Guide to East Woodhay, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Woodhay, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Evingar
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Kingsclere PLU
Registration District Kingsclere
Records begin
Parish registers: 1610
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Andover
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Mid-1500s-1800 - Court of the Peculiar of East Woodhay with Ashmansworth; Post-1770 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WOODHAY, EAST (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Kingsclere, hundred of Evingar, Kingsclere and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 5 miles (S. W. by W.) from Newbury. The Independents and Primitive Methodists have each a place of worship.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

East Woodhaye parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
GENUKI = GENUKI - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[8]
EAST WOODHAY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1610-1812

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG
1615-1812

GENUKI
1618-1812

JOIN
1618-1812

PALL
1790-1812

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288796.

Genealogy

Upsdell, Alma A. Robert Eady - Soldier and Settler. Family history of Robert Eady baptised May 1785 in East Woodhay, traces his life in the Military, and also his descendants, some moving to Michigan, U.S.A. and some to Ontario Canada. The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XI,no.3, November 1984, pages 186-187, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 654-657. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  4. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. Phillimore Hampshire Parish Marriage Registers, Vol. 9 (1900). Digital version at GENUKI - free.
  6. 'Hampshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 July 2014, at 14:20.
  • This page has been accessed 3,950 times.