Eastbourne St Mary, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Eastbourne St Mary, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eastbourne St Mary, Sussex
Eastbourne St Mary East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eastbourne
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Eastbourne PLU
Registration District Eastbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1593
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pevensey
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EASTBOURNE (St. Mary), a post-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Eastbourne, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. [1]

Eastbourne St Mary in Church Street is an Ancient Parish and a market town in East Sussex.
Other places in the parish include: Sea Houses and Meads.

The Ancient parish should not be confused with Eastbourne St Mary Hampden Park or Eastbourne St Mary Wiilingdon.

The church of Saint Mary in Church Street old Town has been designated a grade B listed building British listed building

history and images

Eastbourne Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

For gazetteer entry See A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 124-127. here

Gautrey,Arthur J.  Free Breakfast for All.  A discussion of an ancient custom giving breakfast to parishioners and servants three Sundays during harvest, given by the Parson.  Later it was discontinued and a petition signed for using the funds for a School Master and later still for the poor.  Surnames of the petitioners are:  Parker, Burton, Gildredge, Jorden, Russell, Holland, Renn, Elficke, Payne, Reed, Herriott, Tutt, Thatcher, Bartholomew, Cruden, Reeds, Taylor, Scarlett, Gilbert, Sinnock and Browne.  Jurors who were members of the Jury when the petition came to trial are:  Wade, Earle, Marden, Tutt, Pelling, Weller, Walker, Day, Smith, Ellyate, Stanbridge, Payne, Elliott, Sands, Holland, Wood, Hunt, Price, Marwick, Maynard, Dendy, Napper, Francis and Harraden.  This article to be found in Sussex Family Historian, vol. 1, no.3, Dec. 1973, pages 60-62, Family History Library Ref. 942.52

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see Eastbourne registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex The Register Office Town Hall Grove Road
Eastbourne BN21 4UG Phone 01323 464780 Fax01323 431386 email eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
Eastbourne St Mary, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1558-1744 1558-1744
SOPC Undefined


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Eastbourne

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464161.

[1]

Poor Law Unions

Eastbourne Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Gantrey, Arthur J. Anne of Cleves' Eastbourne Tithes.  After the death of Anne of Cleves, the provisions made for her were given to John Wells and Hercules Witham.  James Gildredge bought it from them.  A lawsuit was brought forth over it.  Surnames mentioned are:  Gilbert, Beard, Alchorne, Bancroft, Foster, Eversfield, Jenkin, Spiller, Whitpaine, Collier, Diggons, Strickland, Older, Fairway, Mortimer, Fricker, Tutt, Scarlett, Crundon, Benister, Tourle, Worge, Webb, Elphick, Friend, Wilson, Selwyn, Philpott, King, Hollands, Herriott, Goffe, Sennock, Tompsette, Miller, Dyer, Frost, Fennells, Holland, Renn, Crundon, Sparrow, Browne, Burton, Thorney and James.  Article covers years 1540-1740 and is to be found in Sussex Family Historian vol. 1 #5, June 1974, pages 112-114, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 B2su

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 124-127. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  3. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 2,126 times.