Eastchurch, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Eastchurch, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Eastchurch, Kent
Eastchurch All Saints Kent.jpg
Eastchurch All Saints Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Isle of Sheppey Liberty
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sheppey PLU
Registration District Sheppey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1677
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sittingbourne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EAST-CHURCH (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Sheppey, liberty of the Isle of Sheppey, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, E. division of Kent, 5 miles (E. by S.) from Queenborough. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1] Eastchurch All Saints is an Ancient Parish on the Isle of Sheppey, two miles east of Minster. The present church dates from 1431-1432 when the previous church on the site was ruined and has had restoration after 1922 fire damage to roofs. It is designated as a grade I listed building by English heritage. Eastchurch has place in British aviation history due to Eastchurch airfield. A stained glass window in the parish church commemorates the death of Charles S Rolls and Cecil Grace who died in an accident in 1910 and an aviation meorial opposite the church. The Wright brothers Orville and Wilbur flew from here and Eastchurch was home to early aircraft building and flight in the 1900s.

Resources

Civil Registration

Eastchurch sub district was within the Sheppey registration district. Kent County Council Registration Services Invicta House County Hall Maidstone Kent ME14 1XX Telephone 08458 247 400 http://www.kent.gov.uk are developing online search for all birth marriages and deaths as a result of a community volunteer effort. Not all events are capable of search but the index is updated annually. Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database. The Mansion House (Certificate Centre) Grove Hill Road Tunbridge Wells Kent TN1 1EP Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Eastchurch, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[6]
Eastchurch, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1677-1867
1677-1836; 1817-1818 (Banns)
1677-1857
FS PRs 1677-1867 1677-1837 1677-1857

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306867. See Kent Census

Poor Law Unions

Sheppey Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 127-129. Date accessed: 25 July 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 18:00.
  • This page has been accessed 1,867 times.