Eastern Cape, South AfricaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

South Africa Gotoarrow.png Eastern Cape

Guide to Eastern Cape, South Africa ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.


Contents

Historical Overview

History

Localities

List of <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cities_and_towns_in_the_Eastern_Cape">cities and towns</a> in the Eastern Cape

Maps and gazetteers

Records

Cemeteries

<a href="http://www.eggsa.org/library/main.php?g2_itemId=1350827">Adelaide Main Cemetery</a>

South Africa-Eastern Cape Cemeteries, click <a href="http://www.southafricawargraves.org/lists/southafrica_eastcape.htm">here</a>

<a href="http://www.worldvitalrecords.com/singleindexlistview.aspx?ix=findagrave&&qt=l&zplace=Eastern+Cape%2c+South+Africa&zdater=0&zbdater=0&zddater=0&se=Exact">FindAGrave</a> records for Eastern Cape, South Africa

Census

Church records

Dutch Reformed Church (NGK)

The following list contains the names of the parishes located in the Eastern Cape through 1900, and includes the names of the mother parish.

Church Year Established Mother parish
Graaff-Reinet 1792 Tulbagh
Uitenhage 1817 Graaff-Reinet
Cradock 1818 Graaff-Reinet
Somerset-Oos 1825 Graaff-Reinet, Uitenhage
Glen Lynden (Bedford) 1829 Somerset-Oos
Albanie 1831 Uitenhage
Burgersdorp 1846 Colesberg, Cradock
Humansdorp 1848 Uitenhage
Middelburg 1852 Colesberg, Cradock, Graaff-Reinet, Richmond
Aliwal-Noord 1852 Burgersdorp
Alexandria 1854 Uitenhage
Queenstown 1854 Cradock
Jansenville 1855 Uitenhage
Aberdeen 1855 Graaff-Reinet
Dordrecht 1856 Aliwal-Noord, Burgersdorp
Pearston 1859 Graaff-Reinet, Somerset-Oos
Komga 1859 Glen Lynden, Albanie, Stockenström
Lady Grey 1862 Aliwal-Noord
Greykerk (Balfour) 1862 Stockenström
Alice 1862 Albanie
Tarkastad 1863 Cradock, Queenstown
Willowmore 1864
Barkly-Oos 1873 Lady Grey, Dordrecht
Steynsburg 1876 Burgersdorp
Hofmeyr 1876 Burgersdorp, Cradock
Steytlerville 1876 Uitenhage
Nieu-Bethesda 1878 Graaff-Reinet
Molteno 1881 Dordrecht
Venterstad 1882 Colesberg, Burgersdorp
Cedarville 1888 Barkly-Oos
Elliot 1890 Dordrecht, Barkly-Oos
Adelaide 1890 Glen Lynden
Umtata 1890 Dordrecht
Sterkstroom 1891 Molteno
Jamestown 1891 Aliwal-Noord, Dordrecht
Dutch Reformed Church (NHK)
Reformed Church (GK)
Methodist
Anglican
Catholic
Others

Civil Registration

A wiki article describing an online collection is found <a href="South Africa, Cape Province, Civil Deaths (FamilySearch Historical Records)">here</a>

Emigration

Genealogy

Land records

Newspapers

The Cody Library at Rhodes University in Grahamstown has original and microfilm copies of many newspapers, including the Grahamstown Journal (1831-1920) and Grocott's Mail (1872-current). Their website can be accessed <a href="http://www.ru.ac.za/corylibrary/">here</a>.

Occupations

Probate records

See <a href="South Africa Cape Province Death Notices">here</a> for a description of what death notices are and where they are located.

See <a href="South Africa Cape Province Probate Records">here</a> for a description of what probates are and where they are located.

School records

Tax records

Websites

Further Reading


<a href="Category:South_Africa">South_Africa</a>


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 November 2014, at 13:21.
  • This page has been accessed 4,737 times.