Eastington (near Northleach), GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Eastington (near Northleach), Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eastington (near Northleach), Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Whitstone
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Wheatenhurst PLU
Registration District Wheatenhurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Alkerton beginning 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1578
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stonehouse
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EASTINGTON, a tything, in the parish and union of Northleach, hundred of Bradley, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 1½ mile (S. E.) from Northleach. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Eastington (near Northleach), Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index - (£)[3]
EASTINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1558-1804
JOIN 1558-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288764.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-132. Date accessed: 26 November 2012.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' Joiner's Marriage Index, accessed 29 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2014, at 18:53.
  • This page has been accessed 2,105 times.