Eastland County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties E
Eastland County
Guide to Eastland County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Eastland County, Texas | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Texas | |||||||||
![]() Location of Texas in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | February 1, 1858 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Eastland | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Eastland County CourthousePO Box 110;
Eastland, TX 76448
Phone: 254.629.1583
County Clerk has birth and death records 1903-1930 and 1940-1950, marriage records from 1874, land records from 1870, probate records from 1882 and military discharge from 1919; District Court has divorce records from 1903[1]
History
Parent County
1858--Eastland County was created 1 February 1858 from Bosque, Coryell and Travis Counties. County seat: Eastland [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1896--Eastland County Courthouse, a three-story stone building, burned on November 29, 1896. The records are believed to have been saved. [3]
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Carbon | Cisco | Desdemona | Eastland | Gorman | Kokomo | Mangum | Nimrod | Olden | Pioneer | Ranger | Rising Star | Romney | Sabanno | Scranton
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| Billion Graves | |
|
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Eastland County, Texas Cemetery Inscriptions, Vol 1- 3, Compiled by Weldon I. Hudson and Shirley Brittain Cawyer, are available at the Centennial Library in Eastland, and may be on the shelves at other libraries, as well. These books were reprinted in 2005 and may be commercially available.
- Volume 1. Cemeteries included: Desdemona, Howard, Davidson (or Tanner), Arther Grave, Tudor (or Gourdneck), Evans Family, Gregg Family, Alameda, Pilgrim, Dabney, Cook, Cross Roads, Tracy (or Brewster), Russell Creek (or Lemley), Bullock, Colony, Moss Curve, Evegreen (Ranger City Cemetery), Pioneer (Ranger City Cemetery), Merriman, Gorman and Oaklawn, Ellison's Spring, Elm (or Midway), Simpson, Mangum Family, Kokomo, Ames, Bollinger (or Freedom), Staff, Providence (or McGough Springs or Comfort), and McGough.
- Volume 2. Cemeteries included: Eastland, Pleasant Grove, Lem Switch (or Briggs Owen), Corinth, Bedford, Reagan (or Latham), Central Methodist, Downtain, Murray Memorial, Jewell, Sutton, McBroom, Jordan, Baseline, Basham, Carbon Restland, Pleasant Hill, Flatwood, Bear Springs, Pleasant Valley, Hittson and Big Sandy, Union (or Cook), Romney, Nimrod, Brown, Coyote Peak, Center Point, Liberty, Salt Tank, Curtis, Elm, Long Branch, Booger Mountain, Thannisch (or Morgan), Lutheran No. 1, Lutheran No. 2, Lutheran - Massman, Unmarked Gravesites, and "Genealogical Notes from Arrington's Funeral Home."
- Volume 3. Cemeteries included: Oakwood (at Cisco), Rising Star, Tipton (or Bois d'Arc), Scranton, Lane, Pioneer, Sabanno, Dothan, Short Graves, Monroe, Haskell, Mitchell, Wayside, Pisgah, Morgan (or Hale), Bacon Ranch Graves, and Unmarked Graves.
- Eastland City Cemetery, listing of all graves online from eastland.net (After the page opens, scroll to the bottom until you see "Eastland Cemetery Interment Listing"). Bury Patch, by Dean Vernon, a book about the cemetery with transcriptions is available from the City of Eastland, 113 E Commerce St., Eastland, TX 76448. Cost $25.00, plus tax and shipping. (254) 629-3349.
- Tombstone Transcription Project ~ Partial transcription of cemetery tombstones ~ USGenWeb
- Texas Historic Cemeteries ~ Partial indexes to historic cemeteries
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Cemetery Junction ~ Links to cemetery transcriptions
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Texas Christian Church Directory ~ ChurchAngel
- Catholic Parishes in Texas
Court
A wiki article describing an online collections is found at:
Texas, Eastland County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Eastland County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- History of Eastland County, by Mrs. George Langston, (Dallas: Aldridge, 1904). Full text version online at archive.org.
- History of Eastland County, Texas, by Edwin T. Cox, (San Antonio: Naylor, 1950).
- Eastland County, Texas: A Historical and Biographical Survey, by Ruby Pearl Ghormley, (Austin: Rupegy, 1969).
- The History of Eastland County, 1873-1973.
- Eastland County Museum
- Texas Museums ~ List of all museums in Texas ~ Hidden Ancestors
Maps
- Eastland City Maps from cityofeastland.com
- Historical Maps ~ From the Republic to the Turn of the Century ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
Military
- Eastland Cemetery War Memorials
- Eastland County Heroes at ancestralheroes.com
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes ~ Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Eastland County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Eastland County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Eastland Telegram, Cisco Press, Ranger Times, The Rising Star - newspapers. Published twice weekly (except for The Rising Star which is published on Thursdays). PDF version of each issue on line within a couple of weeks of publication.
- Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
- Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
- The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online
Obituaries
- Obituary Resources ~ Links to research and locate obituaries ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903. - Texas Marriage Records 1966 - 2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Census Project ~ Texas 1850 - 1930
Societies and Libraries
Centennial Memorial Library
210 S Lamar St
Eastland, TX 76448
Phone: (254) 629-2281
Cisco Public Library
600 Ave G
Cisco, TX 76437
Phone: (254) 442-1020
Ranger City Library
718 Pine St
Ranger, TX 76470
Phone: (254) 647-1880
Charlie Garrett Memorial Library
103 S Fisher
Gorman, TX 76454
Phone: (254) 734-3301
Society Hill ~ Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Eastland County TXGenWeb site. History, cemeteries, business, school information, marriages, maps, family information, etc.
- Eastland County Old Photos, old photographs of people and places in Eastland, Ranger, Cisco and other parts of Eastland County, Texas.
- City of Eastland: eastlandtexas.com and cityofeastland.com websites.
- Hidden Ancestors Information on Texas genealogy research as well as genealogy research in general.
- USGenWeb Texas Archives Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Eastland County, Texas. Page 663 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ GenDisasters.com - Eastland, TX Courthouse Fire, Nov 1896 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/17829/eastland-tx-courthouse-fire-nov-1896
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 25 April 2013, at 02:20.
- This page has been accessed 3,040 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


